Steel and aluminium are just the forerunners of a complex trade conflict

Despite intensive bilateral negotiations, from 1 June 2018 higher tariffs will be applied on American imports of European steel and aluminium. The American government is implementing the previously announced measures to protect American steel and aluminium producers against strong international competition, officially in the interests of national security. A complaint to the World Trade Organisation, as well as a counter-reaction by the EU, will follow soon. This is effectively the start of an escalating international trade conflict. The economic damage of this first step remains limited, but the likelihood of the conflict spreading to the European automotive sector is significant. Moreover, the differing export interests among EU member states threaten to exacerbate the escalation and make negotiations more difficult.

From rhetoric to fact

In recent weeks, opinions had been divided on the assertive American trade policy. Some analysts considered the measures announced unilaterally by the US to be merely a threat and a bargaining technique. Restricting trade with important Western trading partners and allies in the steel and aluminium sectors seemed an irrational decision. Imposing massive trade restrictions on China also seemed a bridge too far. With the current effective introduction of higher import tariffs on steel and aluminium, it is becoming clear that it is not just a question of rhetoric, but of hard facts. The meticulously defined list of products affected (based on codes in the Harmonised System, an important trade classification system) also indicates that this is not an impulsive policy action, but a carefully designed strategy.

High impact escalation

The direct economic impact of these measures remains relatively low. After all, the importance of the steel and aluminium industry within the entire European and American economy is relatively limited. However, these facts do trigger a chain reaction that will have a major impact on the European economy. Firstly, producers from emerging economies - in particular China, but also Russia and South America - will have to look for new markets because access to the American market will be more difficult. No doubt they will try to export more to the EU, which will increase import competition on the European market. European producers have little scope to win the competition on the basis of prices, but are fortunately protected by the higher quality and innovation of their products.

Secondly, the EU will take countermeasures. The EU has already announced that it will tax some EUR 3 billion in US products, which is about half the value of Europe’s total exports of steel and aluminium to the US. This is actually a mild response, but the EU intends to signal its independence from US policy choices. The provisional list includes a number of symbolic products that are likely to affect US voters’ sentiment in certain US states. Thirdly, EU countermeasures will increase the likelihood that the US Government will again take measures against European exporters. The communication by the US President clearly shows dissatisfaction with the relatively strong import of German cars. As US import tariffs would always be applied to the entire EU, they risk hitting one of Europe’s most important export sectors. This protectionist spiral can, of course, continue.

Divided Europe

One of the reasons why the negotiations failed was because of the diverging interests of the EU Member States. The American proposals to introduce voluntary export restrictions on European steel and aluminium were reasonable and would have avoided an escalation of the conflict. However, it quickly became clear that the EU Member States are not all on the same wavelength. The relative importance of the steel and aluminium industries in European countries varies widely. Figure 1 shows, for example, that the share of steel exports in the total exports of the EU countries varies between 12% for Luxembourg and almost 0% for a number of countries. In the same figure, we also show the relative importance of the US market for European steel exports (measured as the share of steel exports to the US over total goods exports to the US relative to the share of steel exports to the world over total goods exports to the world, for each EU member state). This shows that the importance of the US market also varies significantly between European exporters. For example, the US market is extremely important for Slovenian exporters, but it is less important for some of the main European steel exporting nations, such as Belgium, Finland and Slovakia. These differences make it difficult to reconcile demands among all EU Member States.

Figure 1 - Diversity of European export interests in the steel sector (in %, 2017)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on COMTRADE (2018)

Furthermore, the importance of the US market for other important sectors, in particular the automotive sector, also differs considerably. Once again, therefore, it seems difficult to put forward a single strong European vision in the trade negotiations. This European division is in danger of ultimately causing further damage to Europe. In the absence of a unified European vision and strategy, it is particularly difficult to make strategic trade agreements. While the EU subscribes to the general interest of international trade openness, in practice national interests still play a decisive role in bilateral trade negotiations. Moreover, it is often vested interests that lead to restraint, while unconditional openness will create more opportunities in the long run, particularly for new sectors and exporters.

The fact that, in the meantime, the EU is continuing to negotiate new bilateral trade agreements is a hopeful sign. The relatively cautious counter-reaction to the recent US tariff increases will hopefully lead to little provocation. In any case, international trade will remain an important issue in the coming months.

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related articles

A US withdrawal from NAFTA would not be a wise decision

Amerikaanse terugtrekking uit NAFTA zou geen verstandige beslissing zijn

Trade war in steel and aluminium: history repeating itself

Handelsoorlog in staal en aluminium: de geschiedenis herhaalt zich

Trade agreement with the EU is essential for the UK

Handelsakkoord met EU is essentieel voor het VK

EU-Japan trade agreement: covenant of losers sets a bad example

EU-Japan handelsakkoord: verbond van verliezers geeft slechte voorbeeld

L’acier et l’aluminium ne sont que les précurseurs d’un conflit commercial complexe

Malgré d’intenses négociations bilatérales, à partir du 1er juin 2018, des droits de douane plus élevés seront appliqués sur les importations américaines d’acier et d’aluminium européens. Le gouvernement américain met en œuvre les mesures annoncées précédemment pour protéger les producteurs américains d’acier et d’aluminium contre une forte concurrence internationale, officiellement dans l’intérêt de la sécurité nationale. Une plainte auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, ainsi qu’une contre-réaction de l’UE, suivront bientôt. C’est en fait le début d’un conflit commercial international qui s’intensifie. Les dommages économiques de cette première étape restent limités, mais la probabilité que le conflit s’étende au secteur automobile européen est importante. En outre, les intérêts divergents en matière d’exportation entre les États membres de l’UE risquent d’exacerber l’escalade et de rendre les négociations plus difficiles.

Au cours des dernières semaines, les opinions étaient divisées sur la politique commerciale américaine. Certains analystes considéraient que les mesures annoncées unilatéralement par les États-Unis n’étaient qu’une menace et une technique de négociation. Limiter le commerce avec d’importants partenaires et alliés commerciaux occidentaux dans les secteurs de l’acier et de l’aluminium semblait une décision irrationnelle. Imposer des restrictions commerciales massives à la Chine semblait aussi un pont trop lointain. Avec l’introduction effective actuelle de droits d’importation plus élevés sur l’acier et l’aluminium, il devient clair qu’il ne s’agit pas seulement d’une question de rhétorique, mais de faits concrets. La liste méticuleusement définie des produits concernés (basée sur les codes du système harmonisé, un important système de classification commerciale) indique également qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une action politique impulsive, mais d’une stratégie soigneusement conçue.

L’impact économique direct de ces mesures reste relativement faible. Après tout, l’importance de l’industrie de l’acier et de l’aluminium dans l’ensemble de l’économie européenne et américaine est relativement limitée. Toutefois, ces faits déclenchent une réaction en chaîne qui aura un impact majeur sur l’économie européenne. Premièrement, les producteurs des économies émergentes - en particulier la Chine, mais aussi la Russie et l’Amérique du Sud - devront chercher de nouveaux marchés, car l’accès au marché américain sera plus difficile. Il ne fait aucun doute qu’ils tenteront d’exporter davantage vers l’UE, ce qui augmentera la concurrence à l’importation sur le marché européen. Les producteurs européens ont peu de possibilités de remporter la compétition sur la base des prix, mais sont heureusement protégés par la qualité supérieure et l’innovation de leurs produits.

Deuxièmement, l’UE prendra des contre-mesures. L’UE a déjà annoncé qu’elle taxera quelque 3 milliards d’euros de produits américains, ce qui représente environ la moitié de la valeur des exportations totales d’acier et d’aluminium de l’Europe vers les États-Unis. Il s’agit en fait d’une réaction modérée, mais l’UE a l’intention de signaler son indépendance par rapport aux choix politiques des États-Unis. La liste provisoire comprend un certain nombre de produits symboliques susceptibles d’affecter l’opinion des électeurs américains dans certains États américains. Troisièmement, les contre-mesures de l’UE augmenteront la probabilité que le gouvernement américain prenne à nouveau des mesures à l’encontre des exportateurs européens. La communication du président américain montre clairement l’insatisfaction à l’égard de l’importation relativement forte de voitures allemandes. Comme les droits à l’importation américains seraient toujours appliqués à l’ensemble de l’UE, ils risquent de frapper l’un des secteurs d’exportation les plus importants de l’Europe. Cette spirale protectionniste peut, bien entendu, se poursuivre.

L’une des raisons pour lesquelles les négociations ont échoué était due aux intérêts divergents des États membres de l’UE. Les propositions américaines visant à introduire des restrictions volontaires à l’exportation de l’acier et de l’aluminium européens étaient raisonnables et auraient évité une escalade du conflit. Cependant, il est rapidement devenu évident que les États membres de l’UE ne sont pas tous sur la même longueur d’onde. L’importance relative des industries de l’acier et de l’aluminium dans les pays européens varie considérablement. La figure 1 montre, par exemple, que la part des exportations d’acier dans les exportations totales des pays de l’UE varie entre 12 % pour le Luxembourg et près de 0 % pour un certain nombre de pays. Dans la même figure, nous montrons également l’importance relative du marché américain pour les exportations européennes d’acier (mesurée comme la part des exportations d’acier vers les États-Unis sur le total des exportations de biens vers les États-Unis par rapport à la part des exportations d’acier vers le monde sur le total des exportations de biens vers le monde, pour chaque État membre de l’UE). Cela montre que l’importance du marché américain varie également considérablement d’un exportateur européen à l’autre. Par exemple, le marché américain est extrêmement important pour les exportateurs slovènes, mais il l’est moins pour certains des principaux pays européens exportateurs d’acier, comme la Belgique, la Finlande et la Slovaquie. Ces différences font qu’il est difficile de concilier les exigences de tous les États membres de l’UE.

Figure 1 - Diversité des intérêts européens à l’exportation dans le secteur de l’acier (en %, 2017)

Source: KBC Economic Research basé sur COMTRADE (2018)

En outre, l’importance du marché américain pour d’autres secteurs importants, en particulier le secteur automobile, diffère également considérablement. Une fois de plus, il semble donc difficile de présenter une vision européenne forte et unique dans les négociations commerciales. Cette division européenne risque de causer en fin de compte d’autres dommages à l’Europe. En l’absence d’une vision et d’une stratégie européennes unifiées, il est particulièrement difficile de conclure des accords commerciaux stratégiques. Si l’UE souscrit à l’intérêt général de l’ouverture du commerce international, dans la pratique, les intérêts nationaux continuent de jouer un rôle décisif dans les négociations commerciales bilatérales. En outre, ce sont souvent des intérêts particuliers qui conduisent à la retenue, tandis que l’ouverture inconditionnelle créera plus d’opportunités à long terme, en particulier pour les nouveaux secteurs et les exportateurs.

Le fait que, dans l’intervalle, l’UE continue à négocier de nouveaux accords commerciaux bilatéraux est un signe d’espoir. La réaction relativement prudente aux récentes hausses tarifaires américaines n’entraînera, espérons-le, que peu de provocation. En tout état de cause, le commerce international restera une question importante dans les mois à venir.

Cette page est-elle utile pour vous? Oui Non

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

Articles connexes

Pas la guerre commerciale, mais le secteur automobile est responsable pour des ratés du moteur de croissance allemand

EO20181126 Niet handelsoorlog, maar autosector is verantwoordelijk voor sputterende Duitse groeimotor

Dénoncer l’ALENA, une fausse bonne idée

Amerikaanse terugtrekking uit NAFTA zou geen verstandige beslissing zijn

L'UE doit sauver les négociations sur le Brexit étape par étape

EU moet brexit-onderhandelingen stapsgewijs redden

Le conflit commercial laisse présager une guerre technologique

Handelsconflict is voorbode van technologiestrijd