New-build deserves better

Belgium’s housing stock is amongst Europe’s oldest, yet the government encourages renovation rather than new-build, through measures including subsidies and a lower VAT rate. It is still not sufficiently recognised that building new homes is often a better solution than renovation – especially when it comes to energy efficiency. Contrary to popular belief, the price of new-build homes has not risen faster in the past decade than that of existing homes. Building more new homes is a good thing. All the same, sufficient backing needs to be given to demolition and rebuilding, to minimise the use of scarce new building land and to avoid a potential surplus of homes.

Belgians like to say that they are born with a ‘brick in the belly’ – a mentality reflected in the country’s high level of home ownership. According to Eurostat, 71.3% of the Belgian population lived in a self-owned home in 2016, compared to a euro area average of 66.4%. This appetite for real estate is also reflected in the high number of transactions. According to the Belgian notaries’ association, 2017 was the busiest year ever for the Belgian property market. It is striking that secondary market activity is more dynamic than that for new-build. For some time now, families have increasingly preferred to purchase an existing home rather than having one built. Secondary housing market sales have been rising in Belgium by an average of 1.8% a year since the mid-1990s, compared to just 1.3% a year in the number of issued building permits. Apartment-building continued to do quite well, with the exception of the crisis years, but house-building has shown a downward trend (see Figure 1).

Figure 1 - New-build and renovations in Belgium (building permits, in numbers)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on data from FPS Economy

Need for more renewal

Belgian homes are among Europe’s oldest, with an average age of 52 years. According to the government agency FPS Economy, no less than 38% date from before the Second World War, and a quarter were actually built before the First World War. New house builds are currently running at less than 1% of the total existing housing stock annually. As a result, more than a million homes in Belgium are not of sufficiently high quality and have to contend with serious problems in terms of damp, insulation and so on. Above all, the housing stock has not kept pace with current energy standards. Average residential energy consumption in Belgium is 40% higher than in the Netherlands, for instance, and more or less equal to that in the much colder Finland. Renovation subsidies – which tend to be expensive – for improvements like roof insulation and double glazing have helped to some degree, but only affect about 10% of the housing stock.

The relatively limited preference for new-build compared to the purchase of existing homes, is thought to reflect the affordability of new dwellings. An accusing finger is often pointed at the ever-tighter energy-performance demands and regulations that new-build has to meet. The higher rate of VAT (21% compared to 6% for renovation) is another factor. For a substantial proportion of Belgians seeking a home of their own, this means that they opt to purchase (and, where necessary, renovate) an existing home rather than having a new one built.

Tobin’s Q

When choosing between purchasing an existing home and building a new one, families have to weigh up the price of the two alternatives. Economists refer to the ratio between the price of existing and new homes as Tobin’s Q. The higher it is, the more attractive it is to build, and vice versa. Figure 2 shows how the ratio has developed for the Belgian market, along with the numerator (the price of existing homes) and the denominator (the price of new-build). FPS Economy has been publishing new home prices since 2005. We constructed an approximate index for the years before that ourselves by taking the average of the ABEX index and the price of building land. The ABEX index tracks movements in the cost of building a new home.

The pattern of secondary market prices ought to reflect that of building land prices and construction costs in the long term. They can, however, part company in the short term, as supply takes time to respond. The slightly rising Tobin’s Q in Figure 2 shows that the prices of existing homes have risen slightly faster in the past decade than those of new-build homes. This defies the perception that new-build has become a lot more expensive compared to existing homes. While it is true that new-build is often more expensive in absolute terms, the difference is offset by the higher energy efficiency. Since the mid-1990s, meanwhile, new-build price trends have been largely determined by the sharp increase in the price of building land. The ABEX index of construction costs has risen considerably more slowly and actually increased less in the past decade than the general consumer price index.

Figure 2 - Tobin’s Q for the Belgian housing market (1995=100)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on data from FPS Economy and ABEX

The slightly higher Tobin’s Q has caused investment in construction to pick up again in Belgium in recent years. New-build has related chiefly to apartments and to a far lesser extent to new houses (Figure 1). The increase in new-build is good insofar as it contributes to a more energy-efficient residential stock. There is still too little recognition that building new homes is often a better solution. Old, poorly insulated dwellings are all too frequently ‘half renovated’ and would be better demolished and replaced by new-build. Consequently, there is no good reason for government policy to favour renovation over new-build, as is currently the case.

It is likewise important for sufficient backing to be given to demolition and rebuilding, to minimise the use of scarce new building land. This will also prevent the creation of surplus housing. The slower increase in the number of households and the more robust pace of home-building means that the ratio of dwellings to families has been rising again since 2012. If the rate of new-build seen in recent years is maintained, we are heading towards a surplus of homes. And that is not a good thing either...

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related articles

Diversity of forms of cohabiting underestimated in policy

Diversiteit in samenlevingsvormen onderschat in beleid

Property market chief source of inequality in Belgium

Vastgoedmarkt voorname bron van ongelijkheid in België

Les nouvelles constructions ne sont pas appréciées à leur juste valeur

Le patrimoine immobilier belge fait partie des plus vieux d’Europe. Et pourtant, les autorités continuent de favoriser les rénovations plutôt que les nouvelles constructions, au moyen notamment de primes et d’un taux de TVA plus bas. Comment se fait-il qu’elles n’aient pas encore compris que dans de nombreux cas (et certainement au niveau de l’énergie), les nouvelles constructions représentent une meilleure alternative que la rénovation ? Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait penser, la hausse du prix des logements neufs au cours des dix dernières années n’a pas été supérieure à celle des habitations existantes. Un plus grand nombre de constructions neuves est une bonne chose. Il est important de concentrer suffisamment d’efforts sur des projets de démolition/reconstruction, de sorte qu’on perde le moins d’espace possible et qu’on évite un éventuel surplus de logements.

C’est bien connu : le Belge est né avec une brique dans le ventre. En témoigne le taux de propriété élevé qu’affiche notre pays : selon Eurostat, pas moins de 71,3% des Belges étaient propriétaires de leur logement en 2016, contre une moyenne de 66,4% pour la zone euro dans son ensemble. L'appétit féroce en matière d'immobilier se traduit aussi par le nombre élevé de transactions. Selon la Fédération du notariat, 2017 fut l'année la plus intense sur le marché immobilier belge. On constate que l’activité sur le marché secondaire (achat d’habitations existantes) est plus dynamique que celle sur le marché des nouvelles constructions. Cela fait longtemps déjà que les ménages préfèrent l'achat d'un bien existant à une construction neuve. Depuis le milieu des années 90, la hausse du nombre de transactions de vente sur le marché secondaire du logement en Belgique atteint en moyenne 1,8% par an, contre seulement 1,3% par an pour le nombre d’autorisations en vue d’une nouvelle construction. À l'exception des années de crise, la construction neuve d'appartements a relativement tenu la forme, tandis que la construction de maisons d'habitation a observé un recul tendanciel (voir figure 1).  

Figure 1 - Constructions neuves et rénovations en Belgique (permis de bâtir, en chiffres)

Un patrimoine décrépit

Avec une moyenne d’âge de 52 ans, les logements belges figurent parmi les plus vieux d’Europe. Selon le SPF Économie, pas moins de 38% d’entre eux datent d’avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, tandis qu’un quart remontent même à avant la Première Guerre mondiale. La production actuelle de nouvelles habitations représente annuellement moins de 1% du nombre total d’habitations. Résultat : plus d’un million de logements en Belgique sont aujourd’hui dans un état déplorable, notamment en raison de problèmes d’humidité et d’isolation. Le principal problème des logements existants est qu'ils ne sont pas adaptés aux normes énergétiques actuelles. Ainsi, la consommation d'énergie résidentielle moyenne en Belgique est supérieure de 40% par rapport aux Pays-Bas, et environ aussi élevée qu'en Finlande, où il fait nettement plus froid. Les primes à la rénovation relativement chères (en matière d'isolation des toits et de double vitrage, notamment) ont certes permis d'améliorer la situation mais elles ne concernent que quelque 10% des logements existants.

Le succès relativement faible des nouvelles constructions par rapport à l’achat de logements existants serait lié à leur caractère "impayable". En cause : les exigences et réglementations toujours plus strictes auxquelles doivent satisfaire les nouveaux logements en termes de performances énergétiques. Et à cela s’ajoute une TVA plus élevée (21%, contre 6% pour une rénovation). Pour une grande partie des Belges désireux de posséder leur habitation propre, cela signifie qu'ils procèdent à l'achat (et, le cas échéant, à la rénovation) d'un logement existant au lieu d'en faire construire un neuf.

Coefficient Q de Tobin

Au moment de choisir entre l’achat d’une habitation existante et la construction d’une nouvelle, les futurs propriétaires s’intéressent surtout au prix. Dans le jargon, on appelle "coefficient Q de Tobin" le ratio entre le prix d’un logement existant et d’un logement neuf. Plus ce ratio est élevé, plus il est avantageux de faire construire, et inversement. L'illustration 2 montre l'évolution du ratio pour le marché belge, ainsi que celle du numérateur (prix des logements existants) et du dénominateur (prix d'une construction neuve). Le SPF Économie publie des statistiques pour les habitations neuves depuis 2005. Pour les années antérieures, nous réalisions nous-mêmes un indice approximatif en prenant la moyenne de l'indice ABEX et du prix d'un terrain à bâtir. L'indice ABEX suit l'évolution des frais de construction d'un logement neuf.

À long terme, la hausse des prix sur le marché secondaire évolue au même rythme que la hausse des prix des terrains à bâtir et des frais de construction. À court terme, cependant, ces évolutions peuvent diverger en raison du fait que l’offre met du temps à réagir. Le coefficient Q de Tobin, légèrement en hausse (voir illustration 2), indique que les prix des habitations existantes ont augmenté un peu plus rapidement que ceux des nouvelles habitations au cours de la dernière décennie. Ce qui met à mal l'illusion que les constructions neuves sont devenues beaucoup plus chères par rapport aux habitations existantes. En termes absolus, une nouvelle construction reste généralement plus onéreuse, mais cet écart est compensé par les économies d’énergie plus élevées qu’elle permet de faire par la suite. L’évolution du prix des nouvelles constructions reste principalement dictée, depuis le milieu des années 90, par la hausse folle du prix des terrains à bâtir. L'indice ABEX des frais de construction est clairement resté en retrait. Il a même augmenté moins que l'indice général des prix à la consommation durant la décennie précédente.

Le coefficient Q de Tobin légèrement plus élevé a permis aux investissements pour de nouvelles constructions en Belgique de reprendre du poil de la bête ces dernières années. Ces nouvelles constructions ont surtout concerné des appartements, et nettement moins des maisons (figure 1). Cette reprise est une bonne chose dans la mesure où elle contribue à un patrimoine immobilier moins gourmand en énergie, mais trop peu de gens ont compris que dans de nombreux cas, les nouvelles constructions représentent une meilleure alternative. Les logements anciens et mal isolés sont encore trop souvent rénovés "à moitié", alors qu’ils devraient simplement être démolis et remplacés par de nouveaux bâtiments. Il n'y a donc aucune raison pour que dans leur politique, les pouvoirs publics privilégient la rénovation à l'immobilier neuf, comme ils le font actuellement.

Il est également important de concentrer suffisamment d’efforts sur des projets de démolition/reconstruction, de sorte qu’on perde le moins d’espace possible. Cela évite également une offre trop importante de logements. En raison de l’augmentation plus lente du nombre de ménages et de la reprise des nouvelles constructions, le rapport habitations/ménages est à nouveau en hausse depuis 2012. Si le rythme de ces dernières années se maintient, nous nous orientons résolument vers un surplus d’habitations. Et ça, ce n’est pas une bonne chose ...

Cette page est-elle utile pour vous? Oui Non

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

Articles connexes

Le marché de l’immobilier, principale source d’inégalité en Belgique

Vastgoedmarkt voorname bron van ongelijkheid in België

La diversité, sous-estimée par les politiques

Diversiteit in samenlevingsvormen onderschat in beleid
KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.