Inflationary tendencies herald a monetary normalisation

The general assumption is that the European Central Bank (ECB) will scrap its unconventional monetary policy in 2018. However, the current low inflation figures give the ECB a strong argument for continuing the stimulus. Nevertheless, there are a number of inflationary tendencies in the eurozone lurking behind the low inflation, and they will gain strength in coming months. Too much caution in the monetary policy could cause considerable damage to the European economy. The ECB will have to come up with strong arguments with which to fundamentally defend its change in policy. The return of inflation and the underlying structural developments will be the economic theme of 2018.

Higher growth, low inflation

At the beginning of the new year, a great many new statistics and predictions are strewn around. They too reiterate that economic growth is accelerating worldwide. The IMF now expects as much as 3.9% actual GDP growth in 2018 and 2019. The surprisingly strong performances by Europe, in particular, really stand out. We expect a final actual growth figure of at least 2.4% for the eurozone in 2017. At the same time, new figures from Eurostat demonstrate a stubbornly low inflation in the eurozone (1.4% in December 2017) – substantially lower than the goal set by the European Central Bank (ECB). In principle, a higher rate of inflation is a major precondition to scrapping the stimulating monetary policy. The general opinion is that the ECB will start a gradual run-down of its unconventional monetary policy later this year, by discontinuing its purchase programmes. Social and economic criticism of the side effects of this policy is increasing, while the current strong growth performances remain difficult to reconcile with an exceptionally stimulating policy. The recent fluctuation in the German long-term interest rate shows that the markets are gradually incorporating this policy change. The recent downturn in the inflation in the eurozone would appear at first sight to contradict the expected change to the monetary policy.

Inflationary tendencies rather than inflation

It seems unlikely that the inflation in the eurozone will effectively evolve towards the goal of 2% in the coming months. That could essentially cause the ECB to decide to maintain the monetary stimulus at the same level for longer. However, despite being perfectly justifiable in terms of economic efficiency, this scenario seems unlikely – or probably even a crucial error of judgement. In spite of the relatively low inflation, we are still seeing more and more signs of inflationary tendencies in the European economy. These inflationary tendencies are not as yet manifesting as effective inflation, because they are being compensated for by a number of deflationary tendencies. However, the inflationary tendencies will ultimately prevail and cause a rise in inflation, but probably not until after the effective normalisation of the monetary policy.

This is not just a matter of semantics as the world economy is currently facing a number of complex and contradictory processes. They ensure that the traditional economic laws assert themselves only slowly, but they are more important than ever in correctly estimating the current situation.

Where does inflation come from?

The first inflationary trend we can confirm, is the continuing improvement in the world economy’s growth, particularly in Europe. At the current growth level, we can no longer speak of an economic recovery in Europe (after the crisis), but rather of true economic expansion. The current economic growth is clearly higher than the potential growth of the eurozone (roughly 1.2%), a theoretic concept that measures the possible growth, given the current product means in our economy. Calculation of the potential growth is subject to criticism for valid reasons, but the strong current growth performance obviates that discussion. Exceeding the potential ultimately leads to inflation and a slowdown in the economic cycle. The current situation can be seen as heralding effective inflation in the eurozone.

On the other hand, capacity utilisation in the European industry is clearly increasing. Optimism and solid export performances in the industry had a positive impact on European growth in 2017. However, there are no inflationary tendencies in industrial products, mainly due to constant American and Chinese industrial overcapacity. The combination of worldwide overcapacity and fierce international competition continues to exert a downward pressure on industrial prices. Any international trade conflict (between the US and China, for example) could break this deflationary spiral. Such a scenario cannot be ruled out in the coming years.
However, the importance of industrial products to the eurozone’s inflationary figures is limited (26%). By contrast, prices for services determine 45% of inflation. Those prices are mainly determined by the evolution in European wages. International competition in services is also more limited. This means that there is a crucial role to be played by the European labour markets in 2018. Wages were under pressure throughout all of Europe during and after the financial crisis. Now, however, falling unemployment and the increasing employment rates in the eurozone are exerting an upward pressure on European wages. In the majority of eurozone countries, wage growth is accelerating, which is further strengthened by shortages in certain segments of the labour market (shortage professions and the highly skilled, for example). The demand for labour is reinforced by the strong economic climate, so wage growth is likely to continue in the coming months. This is a third – and possibly the most important – inflationary tendency taking shape at present.

Lastly, there are signs of inflationary tendencies occurring in many markets worldwide. The strong economic recovery is confirmed by the sharp rise in the prices of oil and other raw materials. Naturally, energy prices will contribute to the increase in inflation, but higher prices for energy and raw materials will also be indirectly reflected in prices of final goods and services. The strong performances by most financial markets (equity, real estate, …) do not directly affect inflation, but an inflationary impulse in the form of higher disposable income (from capital gains) and rising rent prices, is an indirect result of those performances.

Be cautious, but not too cautious

The ECB adopted a cautious attitude at the end of 2017. By extending the quantitative easing until the end of September 2018 (albeit reduced to 30 billion euros per month) the ECB has, above all, bought time. However, in spring 2018, the ECB will have to communicate about the way forward for monetary policy. Given the inflationary tendencies, and despite the overly low inflation, the time is ripe for the ECB to shut down its purchase programmes, but it will have to present strong arguments and convincing figures. After all, the ECB’s reputation is on the line. Continued caution threatens to push recovery in the eurozone towards overheating. In the end, the ECB’s enormous balance sheet – the result of the massive bond purchases – and the low interest rate are still major stimuli for the real economy.

In any event, 2018 will be the ‘year of inflation’ in debates, discussions and, in particular, in facts. The long-awaited return of inflation is imminent.

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related articles

Bank of Japan, inexhaustible source of global liquidity

Bank of Japan onuitputbare bron van wereldwijde liquiditeit
KBC uses cookies to make your online experience easier and to fit your needs and preferences. By browsing the KBC site, you agree to the use of these cookies. Learn more and see how to decline cookies?Click here.

Les tendances inflationnistes annoncent une normalisation monétaire

L’hypothèse générale est que la Banque centrale européenne (BCE) abandonnera sa politique monétaire non conventionnelle en 2018. Toutefois, les faibles taux d’inflation actuels plaident fortement en faveur de la poursuite des mesures de relance. Néanmoins, il existe un certain nombre de tendances inflationnistes dans la zone euro qui se cachent derrière la faiblesse de l’inflation, et elles gagneront en vigueur dans les mois à venir. Une politique monétaire trop prudente pourrait causer des dommages considérables à l’économie européenne. La BCE devra présenter des arguments solides pour défendre fondamentalement son changement de politique. Le retour de l’inflation et les évolutions structurelles sous-jacentes seront le thème économique de 2018.

Croissance plus forte, faible inflation

Au début de la nouvelle année, de nombreuses nouvelles statistiques et prévisions s’enchaînent. Ils réitèrent également que la croissance économique s’accélère à l’échelle mondiale. Le FMI s’attend maintenant à une croissance réelle du PIB de 3,9% en 2018 et 2019. Les performances étonnamment fortes de l’Europe, en particulier, se démarquent vraiment. Nous prévoyons une croissance effective finale d’au moins 2,4% pour la zone euro en 2017. Dans le même temps, les nouveaux chiffres d’Eurostat montrent une inflation obstinément faible dans la zone euro (1,4% en décembre 2017) - nettement inférieure à l’objectif fixé par la Banque centrale européenne (BCE). En principe, un taux d’inflation plus élevé est une condition préalable essentielle à l’abandon de la politique monétaire stimulante. L’avis général est que la BCE commencera à réduire progressivement sa politique monétaire non conventionnelle dans le courant de l’année, en mettant fin à ses programmes d’achat. Les critiques sociales et économiques à l’encontre des effets secondaires de cette politique s’accentuent, alors que les fortes performances actuelles en matière de croissance restent difficilement conciliables avec une politique exceptionnellement stimulante. Les fluctuations récentes des taux d’intérêt allemands à long terme montrent que les marchés intègrent progressivement ce changement de politique. Le récent ralentissement de l’inflation dans la zone euro semble à première vue contredire l’évolution attendue de la politique monétaire.

Les tendances inflationnistes plutôt que l’inflation

Il semble peu probable que l’inflation dans la zone euro évoluera effectivement vers l’objectif de 2% dans les prochains mois. Cela pourrait essentiellement amener la BCE à décider de maintenir le stimulus monétaire au même niveau pendant plus longtemps. Cependant, bien qu’il soit parfaitement justifiable en termes d’efficacité économique, ce scénario semble peu probable - ou même probablement une erreur de jugement cruciale. En dépit d’une inflation relativement faible, nous observons encore de plus en plus de signes de tendances inflationnistes dans l’économie européenne. Ces tendances inflationnistes ne se manifestent pas encore sous la forme d’une inflation effective, car elles sont compensées par un certain nombre de tendances déflationnistes. Toutefois, les tendances inflationnistes finiront par prévaloir et provoqueront une hausse de l’inflation, mais probablement seulement après la normalisation effective de la politique monétaire.

Ce n’est pas seulement une question de sémantique, car l’économie mondiale est actuellement confrontée à un certain nombre de processus complexes et contradictoires. Ils veillent à ce que les lois économiques traditionnelles ne s’affirment que lentement, mais ils sont plus importants que jamais dans l’estimation correcte de la situation actuelle.

D’où vient l’inflation?

La première tendance inflationniste que nous pouvons confirmer est l’amélioration continue de la croissance de l’économie mondiale, notamment en Europe. Au niveau de croissance actuel, on ne peut plus parler d’une reprise économique en Europe (après la crise), mais plutôt d’une véritable expansion économique. La croissance économique actuelle est nettement supérieure à la croissance potentielle de la zone euro (environ 1,2%), un concept théorique qui mesure la croissance possible, compte tenu des moyens produits actuels de notre économie. Le calcul de la croissance potentielle fait l’objet de critiques pour des raisons valables, mais la forte croissance actuelle écarte cette discussion. Le dépassement du potentiel conduit en fin de compte à une inflation et à un ralentissement du cycle économique. La situation actuelle peut être considérée comme annonciatrice d’une inflation effective dans la zone euro.

En revanche, le taux d’utilisation des capacités de production de l’industrie européenne augmente nettement. L’optimisme et les bonnes performances à l’exportation de l’industrie ont eu un impact positif sur la croissance européenne en 2017. Toutefois, il n’y a pas de tendances inflationnistes dans les produits industriels, principalement en raison de la surcapacité industrielle constante des États-Unis et de la Chine. La combinaison de la surcapacité mondiale et d’une concurrence internationale féroce continue d’exercer une pression à la baisse sur les prix industriels. Tout conflit commercial international (entre les États-Unis et la Chine, par exemple) pourrait briser cette spirale déflationniste. Un tel scénario ne peut être exclu dans les années à venir.

Toutefois, l’importance des produits industriels dans les chiffres inflationnistes de la zone euro est limitée (26%). En revanche, les prix des services déterminent 45% de l’inflation. Ces prix sont principalement déterminés par l’évolution des salaires européens. La concurrence internationale dans les services est également plus limitée. Cela signifie que les marchés du travail européens auront un rôle crucial à jouer en 2018. Les salaires ont été mis sous pression dans toute l’Europe pendant et après la crise financière. Aujourd’hui, cependant, la baisse du chômage et l’augmentation des taux d’emploi dans la zone euro exercent une pression à la hausse sur les salaires européens. Dans la majorité des pays de la zone euro, la croissance des salaires s’accélère, ce qui est encore renforcé par des pénuries dans certains segments du marché du travail (pénuries de professions et de travailleurs hautement qualifiés, par exemple). La demande de main-d’œuvre est renforcée par la forte conjoncture économique, de sorte que la croissance des salaires devrait se poursuivre au cours des prochains mois. Il s’agit d’une troisième tendance inflationniste - et peut-être la plus importante - qui se dessine actuellement.

Enfin, on observe des signes de tendances inflationnistes sur de nombreux marchés dans le monde. La forte reprise économique est confirmée par la forte hausse des prix du pétrole et des autres matières premières. Naturellement, les prix de l’énergie contribueront à la hausse de l’inflation, mais les prix plus élevés de l’énergie et des matières premières se répercuteront aussi indirectement sur les prix des biens et services finaux. Les bonnes performances de la plupart des marchés financiers (actions, immobilier,...) n’affectent pas directement l’inflation, mais une impulsion inflationniste sous la forme d’une hausse du revenu disponible (provenant des plus-values) et d’une hausse des loyers, est une conséquence indirecte de ces performances.

Soyez prudent, mais pas trop prudent

La BCE a adopté une attitude prudente à la fin de 2017. En prolongeant l’assouplissement quantitatif jusqu’ à la fin de septembre 2018 (bien que ramené à 30 milliards d’euros par mois), la BCE a surtout gagné du temps. Toutefois, au printemps 2018, la BCE devra communiquer sur la voie à suivre en matière de politique monétaire. Compte tenu des tendances inflationnistes, et en dépit d’une inflation excessivement faible, le moment est venu pour la BCE de mettre un terme à ses programmes d’achat, mais elle devra présenter des arguments solides et des chiffres convaincants. Après tout, la réputation de la BCE est en jeu. La prudence continue menace de pousser la reprise dans la zone euro vers la surchauffe. En fin de compte, l’énorme bilan de la BCE - le résultat des achats massifs d’obligations - et le bas niveau des taux d’intérêt constituent toujours des stimuli majeurs pour l’économie réelle.

En tout état de cause, 2018 sera “l’année de l’inflation” dans les débats, les discussions et, en particulier, dans les faits. Le retour de l’inflation tant attendu est imminent.

Cette page est-elle utile pour vous? Oui Non

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

Articles connexes

La Banque centrale japonaise, source inépuisable de liquidités à l’échelon mondial

Bank of Japan onuitputbare bron van wereldwijde liquiditeit
KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.