Trade conflict presages technology battle

The trade conflict between the United States and China swings wildly between escalation and thawing. Events are following each other in rapid succession. There is a growing realisation that there are no winners in a prolonged conflict. Moreover, further escalation threatens to do great harm to the global economy. At first sight, the growing trade deficit in the United States appears to justify the hard trade policy of the US government. But that interpretation does not stack up. Fundamentally, the debate is not about free trade, but about technology. Technological leadership will determine economic leadership in the future. As a consequence, the confrontation between China and the United States, and by extension the economic power struggle between the West and the emerging economies, will not be an overnight sensation but a quest stretching for years in search of a new and workable model for future globalisation. What we are currently experiencing is merely a foretaste of the major challenges posed by the structural redrawing of the global economic map. Only better international protection of international property rights offers a structural solution.

Looking at the trade balance differently

Recent figures show that the US trade deficit increased further in February 2018 to 57.6 billion USD. The main reason is the imbalance in trade relations with China. US President Trump has repeatedly referred to the unfairness of this deficit. At first sight, this appears to be a justified concern: the American trade deficit with China is a long-standing and structural problem. Yet the trade balance tells only part of the story. A substantial proportion of so-called Chinese exports to the United States comprises products that are actually made by US multinationals in China, which are then exported to the United States. Throwing up trade barriers against Chinese products could thus threaten the interests of American companies. Even if the tariff increase already announced and any similar moves in the future largely spare American ‘made in China’ products (which is technically possible, but difficult), the current trade conflict still threatens to bring severe consequences for US multinationals operating in China, because the possibility cannot be ruled out that China will throw up other kinds of trade barriers, such as red tape, regulations and excessive inspection procedures, to make it more difficult for Western companies to enter or operate in the Chinese market. This is an area where China already has a very bad reputation.

Not trade, but technology

The relatively mild response from China has led many to hope for a rapid thaw in the present trade conflict. That hope is not very realistic. It seems more likely that the dispute will move away from trade issues to focus on the heart of the matter: technology. China cherishes economic ambitions which go well beyond its present role as ‘factory of the world’. China wants to join the great world powers by focusing more on the production and export of products with high added value. This ‘Made in China 2025’ strategy requires access to technology in a broad sense: knowledge, product and process innovation, new technical insights, etc., and in many sectors.

China is seeking this access to technology through several channels. In an early phase of its development, China made intelligent use of joint ventures with Western companies to achieve knowledge transfers. The weak protection of intellectual property has been a thorn in the flesh of Western companies for many years, but their legal battle in China has produced little in practice. International legal principles, including through the Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) under the aegis of the World Trade Organisation, also offer inadequate protection. These Chinese imitation practices have gradually taken on bigger proportions as more international companies have set up bases in China. Trade serves as an access portal for technology. President Trump has referred explicitly to the unauthorised appropriation of American technology by Chinese companies. Thanks to additional support from the Chinese government in the form of a ‘China first’ industrial policy, Chinese companies are succeeding in rapidly copying and implementing foreign technology. This is no longer an innocent strategy of a developing country.

A second arm of the Chinese quest for technology takes the form of an active foreign acquisition policy. Nervous reactions in the West show that no one likes to sell out to Chinese investors, but the latter are often willing to pay high prices, even if there are no other prospective investors, as happened for example during the European debt crisis. Various initiatives have been taken or are in preparation, both in the United States and the European Union, to curb the Chinese access to technological or strategic sectors. This protectionist attitude is understandable given China’s intentions.

The real solution

Denying China access to foreign technology or foreign markets threatens to put a brake on future global economic growth. Taking that route means everyone loses. Finding a genuine solution tothe current conflict demands a more structural approach.

In principle, China could simply accept the proposed US tariff increases. As trade between China and the US becomes more balanced, the tensions could ease. However, that is not a solution either, because it does not tackle the core of the problem. 

China must commit to better protection of intellectual property. A more prominent role in the global economy also brings more responsibility. Proper international protection of intellectual property will in time have a positive effect on innovation and investments in research and development at the global level. This is not an obvious solution for China, however, from either a strategic or cultural perspective. Yet it offers the only guarantee for creating a fair starting point for future cooperation and further globalisation. Robust protection rules would also make future Chinese investments in the West less politically sensitive. In exchange for better protection of intellectual property, China could gain permanent access to Western technology, or technological cooperation between the West and China could become possible.

Modernisation and extension of TRIPS appears to offer a good starting point for achieving this international protection. The advantage of a multilateral agreement is the clarity it gives to all countries. That is useful, given that other emerging economies are in a comparable situation to China, or will be in the future.

Although the solution is clear, reaching it is anything but straightforward. Whilst waiting for a structural solution, conflicts such as the present trade tussle will become the norm. Western countries will have to accept that they are no longer able to dictate the multilateral rules of the game, while some emerging economies will, at least partly, have to reconcile themselves with practices that are common in Western market economies. The search for the best of both worlds needs to begin urgently.

Disclaimer:

Any opinion expressed in this KBC Economic Opinions represents the personal opinion by the author(s). Neither the degree to which the hypotheses, risks and forecasts contained in this report reflect market expectations, nor their effective chances of realisation can be guaranteed. Any forecasts are indicative. The information contained in this publication is general in nature and for information purposes only. It may not be considered as investment advice. Sustainability is part of the overall business strategy of KBC Group NV (see https://www.kbc.com/en/corporate-sustainability.html). We take this strategy into account when choosing topics for our publications, but a thorough analysis of economic and financial developments requires discussing a wider variety of topics. This publication cannot be considered as ‘investment research’ as described in the law and regulations concerning the markets for financial instruments. Any transfer, distribution or reproduction in any form or means of information is prohibited without the express prior written consent of KBC Group NV. KBC cannot be held responsible for the accuracy or completeness of this information.

Related articles

A US withdrawal from NAFTA would not be a wise decision

A US withdrawal from NAFTA would not be a wise decision

EU as a regulatory superpower... but with limits

EU as a regulatory superpower... but with limits

Long and bitter technology war on its way

Long and bitter technology war on its way

It’s the car sector that’s to blame for the sputtering German growth engine, not the trade war

It’s the car sector that’s to blame for the sputtering German growth engine, not the trade war
We use cookies and similar technologies to make our website work better for you and ensure your online experience with us is more enjoyable and rewarding. We may also adapt our website to your needs and preferences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of cookies.Learn more or reject cookies.

Le conflit commercial laisse présager une guerre technologique

Het handelsconflict tussen de Verenigde Staten en China slingert tussen escalatie en ontdooiing. De feiten volgen elkaar razendsnel op. Het besef groeit dat een aanslepend conflict geen winnaars oplevert. Bovendien dreigt verdere escalatie grote schade toe te brengen aan de wereldeconomie. Het toenemend handelsbalanstekort van de Verenigde Staten lijkt de harde handelspolitiek van de Amerikaanse regering te rechtvaardigen. Die interpretatie klopt niet. Fundamenteel gaat het debat niet over vrijhandel, maar wel over technologie. Technologisch leiderschap zal economisch leiderschap bepalen in de toekomst. Daardoor zal de confrontatie tussen China en de Verenigde Staten, en bij uitbreiding de economische machtsstrijd tussen de westerse en opkomende economieën, geen eendagsvlieg zijn maar een jarenlange zoektocht naar een nieuw en werkbaa model voor toekomstige globalisering. Wat we nu meemaken is slechts een voorproefje van de grote uitdagingen die de structurele hertekening van de wereldeconomie met zich meebrengt. Enkel een verbeterde internationale bescherming van intellectuele eigendomsrechten biedt een structurele oplossing.

Envisager la balance commerciale sous un autre angle

Les chiffres récents indiquent que le déficit de la balance commerciale américaine a poursuivi sa progression à 57,6 milliards USD en février 2018. En cause essentiellement, le déséquilibre par rapport à la Chine. Le Président américain Trump a souligné à plusieurs reprises la caractère déloyal de ce déficit. À première vue, cette inquiétude semble justifiée : le déficit de la balance commerciale américaine vis-à-vis de la Chine constitue un problème structurel depuis plusieurs années. Toutefois, la balance commerciale ne constitue pas un indicateur absolu. Une part considérable des exportations chinoises à destination des États-Unis comprend des produits fabriqués par des multinationales américaines établies en Chine, qui sont ensuite exportés vers les USA. Dresser des barrières commerciales vis-à-vis des produits chinois menace ainsi potentiellement les intérêts des entreprises américaines. Même si les augmentations des droits de douane annoncées et futures ne concernent pas, pour l'essentiel, les produits américains « made in China » (ce qui est techniquement possible mais difficile), le conflit commercial actuel pourrait toutefois avoir de lourdes répercussions sur les multinationales américaines actives en Chine. Il ne faut en effet pas exclure que la Chine compliquera l'accès au marché ou les possibilités opérationnelles au détriment des entreprises occidentales par l'intermédiaire de barrières commerciales non tarifaires comme les obligations administratives, les règlements et les procédures de contrôle excessives. Aujourd'hui, la Chine jouit déjà d'une réputation détestable à ce niveau.

Pas le commerce, mais la technologie

Les ripostes relativement timides de la Chine font naître de nombreux espoirs quant à un dénouement rapide du conflit commercial actuel. Cet espoir n'est assurément pas réaliste. Il semble en effet plus probable que le bras de fer se déplacera des questions commerciales vers le cœur du problème, à savoir la technologie. La Chine nourrit en effet des ambitions économiques qui outrepassent largement son rôle d'« usine du monde ». La République populaire veut conquérir une place parmi les grands de la planète en misant davantage sur la production et l'exportation de produits à haute valeur ajoutée. Cette stratégie « made in China 2025 » requiert l'accès à la technologie au sens large du terme : connaissances, innovation en termes de produits et de processus, progrès techniques, etc., et ce, dans de nombreux secteurs.

La Chine cherche à accéder à la technologie par le biais de différents canaux. À un stade de développement précoce, la Chine a recouru à des coentreprises (« joint ventures ») avec des sociétés occidentales pour réaliser le transfert des connaissances. La faible protection de la propriété intellectuelle est, depuis des années, une épine dans l'œil des entreprises occidentales. Leur combat juridique en Chine ne donne guère de résultats dans la pratique. Les principes de droit internationaux, notamment via l'Accord sur les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce (ADPIC) dans le cadre de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, fournissent eux aussi une protection insuffisante en pratique. Ces pratiques d'imitation ont progressivement pris des proportions de plus en plus grandes à mesure que de nombreuses sociétés internationales s'établissent en Chine. Le commerce fait office de courroie de transmission pour la technologie. Le Président Trump a expressément renvoyé à l'appropriation illicite de la technologie américaine par les entreprises chinoises. Grâce au coup de pouce apporté par les autorités chinoises sous la forme d'une politique industrielle « China first », les sociétés du pays parviennent à copier et à mettre la technologie étrangère en œuvre à un rythme effréné. Il ne s'agit plus d'une stratégie innocente d'un pays en voie de développement.

Un deuxième volet de la recherche de technologies par la Chine réside dans une politique active de rachat d'entreprises étrangères. Les réactions nerveuses observées dans les pays occidentaux indiquent que personne ne vend aux investisseurs chinois de gaité de cœur mais ces derniers sont souvent disposés à payer le prix fort même s'il n'y a pas d'autres candidats investisseurs, comme ce fut le caslors de crise de la dette européenne. Différentes initiatives ont été prises ou sont à l'état d'ébauche, tant aux États-Unis qu'au sein de l'UE, afin de restreindre l'accès de la Chine aux secteurs technologiques ou stratégiques. Cette attitude protectionniste est compréhensive au vu des intentions chinoises.

La véritable solution

Refuser l'accès à la technologie étrangère ou aux marchés étrangers à la Chine menace de freiner la croissance économique future à travers le monde. Cette piste s'avèrerait un fiasco pour chacun. Une véritable solution au conflit actuel exige une approche plus structurelle.

En principe, la Chine pourrait se résigner face aux augmentations des droits de douane annoncées par l'Amérique. Les tensions devraient s'estomper à mesure que la balance commerciale sino-américaine retrouve l'équilibre. Mais ceci ne constitue pas une solution dès lors que l'on ne s'attaque pas au cœur du problème.

La Chine doit s'engager à mieux protéger la propriété intellectuelle. Jouer un rôle plus proéminent sur l'échiquier économique mondial implique aussi une responsabilité accrue. Le fait d'assurer une protection internationale adaptée de la propriété intellectuelle aura, à terme, un effet bénéfique sur l'innovation et les investissements dans la recherche et le développement à l'échelle de la planète. Cette solution ne va évidemment pas de soi pour la Chine d'un point de vue stratégique et culturel. Il s'agit toutefois de la seule garantie pour jeter équitablement les bases d'une collaboration future et de la poursuite de la mondialisation. La définition de règles de protection solides rend également les futurs investissements chinois en Occident moins sensibles d'un point de vue politique. En échange d'une meilleure protection de la propriété intellectuelle, la Chine peut continuer à accéder à la technologie occidentale et la collaboration technologique entre l'Occident et son allié oriental devient possible. 

La modernisation et l'élargissement de l'ADPIC semblent constituer un bon point de départ pour assurer cette protection internationale. L'avantage d'un accord multilatéral s'impose comme une évidence pour tous les pays. D'autres économies émergentes se trouvent en fait dans une situation similaire à la Chine ou s'y retrouveront à l'avenir.

Bien que la solution soit claire, le chemin pour y parvenir est parsemé d'embûches. En l'attente d'une solution structurelle, les conflits comme la guerre commerciale actuelle seront monnaie courante. Les pays occidentaux devront accepter de ne plus être les seuls à édicter les règles du jeu multilatérales tandis que les économies émergentes devront, à tout le moins partiellement, accepter les pratiques traditionnellement en vigueur dans les économies de marché occidentales. Il convient de concilier le meilleur de ces deux mondes de toute urgence.

Disclaimer:

Toute opinion formulée dans les KBC Opinions Économiques représente l’opinion personnelle de l’auteur ou des auteurs. Any opinion expressed in this KBC Economic Opinions represents the personal opinion by the author(s). Ni la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché, ni la mesure dans laquelle ils seront corroborés par la réalité ne peuvent être garanties. Les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif. Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Elles ne peuvent être considérées comme des recommandations en investissement. La durabilité fait partie de la stratégie commerciale globale de KBC Group NV (voir https://www.kbc.com/fr/durabilite-de-l-entreprise.html). Nous tenons compte de cette stratégie dans le choix des sujets de nos publications, mais une analyse approfondie de l'évolution économique et financière nécessite d'aborder une plus grande variété de sujets. Cette publication relève de la ‘recherche en investissements’, telle que visée par la loi et la réglementation sur les marchés d’instruments financiers. Toute transmission, diffusion ou reproduction de ces informations, sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit, est interdite sans l’autorisation expresse, préalable et écrite de KBC Groupe SA. KBC et CBC Banque SA ne peut être tenu responsable de leur exactitude ou de leur exhaustivité.

Articles connexes

Les victimes de la guerre commerciale sont légion en Asie

EO20181220 In Asia, losers abound in trade war carnage

Accord commercial UE-Japon : une alliance de perdants montre le mauvais exemple

EU-Japan handelsakkoord: verbond van verliezers geeft slechte voorbeeld

Protectionnisme commercial 4.0: un scénario que nous préférons éviter

EO20200204 Protectionnisme commercial 4.0: un scénario que nous préférons éviter

L'UE doit sauver les négociations sur le Brexit étape par étape

EU moet brexit-onderhandelingen stapsgewijs redden
Nous utilisons des cookies et technologies similaires pour garantir le bon fonctionnement de notre site internet et rendre votre navigation plus agréable. Ils nous permettent aussi d’adapter notre site à vos besoins et préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou vous n’êtes pas d’accord?Cliquez ici.