EU should save Brexit negotiations step by step

The Brexit negotiations between the United Kingdom (UK) and the EU should be concluded by the end of this year. On 29 March 2019 the UK’s EU membership will officially be terminated. Currently, the negotiations aren’t going particularly smoothly, to say the least. Most often the British political chaos and divide is blamed for this situation. The current political negotiation game is shameful and unprofessional, with potentially dramatic consequences for both the UK and EU economy. It is the EU that has to step up its efforts by proposing new solutions proactively. In doing so, aiming for an all-inclusive separation deal is no longer realistic. Moreover, that aim is the cause of tremendous uncertainty at this moment, which causes possibly useless adaptation costs. Partial agreements, reached step by step, as well as realistic plannings are what we currently need. There should be a sense of urgency for a completely different approach.

Divided Europe

On September 18 the European Council met in Vienna for a Brexit summit, obviously without the UK. Once again it turned out that opinions on Brexit differ substantially among European political leaders. The main UK trading partners - in particular, smaller EU economies like Ireland, The Netherlands, Denmark, and somewhat hesitating Belgium - call for a soft Brexit. France and Germany, on the other hand, see Brexit as an opportunity to expand their European interests and as a case to prevent other EU countries from getting similar divorce aspirations. Other countries, including the Central and Eastern European economies, never showed much interest in Brexit as they - wrongly - believe Brexit won’t hurt them. They may change their view once less EU funds end up in their budget or when their car sales in the UK fall back. Southern European countries have to cope with many other challenges, so that Brexit is definitely not the first of their concerns. Consequently, the EU27 is divided about any Brexit strategy, leaving chief negotiator Michel Barnier with a vague negotiation mandate. Barnier himself hasn’t adopted a very entrepreneurial and creative approach, as he has so far only been waiting for new British proposals before effectively and convincingly turning them down. As Michel Barnier is named as a potential candidate for the European Commission presidency or any other top position, his current approach brings him visibility and perhaps even credibility as defender of EU interests. However, no actual results are achieved in the Brexit negotiations. Hence blaming British politics for the sluggish Brexit process is definitely a bridge too far. Also the EU bears responsibility.

However, the EU, and notably the European Commission, is best equiped to design a balanced Brexit agreement. The directorates-general of the European Commission consist of the best specialists in the areas of international trade policy, international investments, internal market issues etc. In order to speed up the negotiations and to avoid the risk of a no-deal Brexit or hard Brexit, those specialists should be put in charge of reaching a deal. Such approach is by no means a violation of British sovereignty as a good and balanced arrangement is beneficial to the EU as well as to the UK.

The latter is also reflected in recent IMF statements. Once more the IMF warned against the negative impact of a no-deal scenario. According to new IMF calculations, such outcome would imply a 1.5% drop in EU growth, clearly exceeding figures in previous studies. The Bank of England estimated the growth decline in the UK around 1.5-2%. During an almost emotional speech IMF chief Christine Lagarde called upon the UK and EU to take up their historical responsibility. The latest IMF call should be praised, although the international institution’s credibility was hit several times. Previously, the IMF predicted that Brexit would never occur and that, after the referendum outcome, the British economy would suffer a lot. As a matter of fact, the UK economy performed quite well during the past two years. However, in the longer run, the IMF is definitely right. A hard Brexit will jeopardize the UK’s and EU’s growth opportunities due to reduced mutual market access, regulatory divergence, and a general lack of policy coordination.

Business as usual

European business currently appears to be the strongest advocate of a quick and clear solution, preferably a soft Brexit. Nevertheless, an increasing number of companies and sectors prepare for the worst, namely for a no-deal scenario. This realism is smart, but costly. Various adaption costs are unavoidable to guarantee a smooth value chain. As part of this preparatory process, international investments in the UK remain strong, but their average scale is smaller. This signals that European firms position themselves on the UK market in order to serve their UK customers. In particular large European firms seem to prepare, despite the many remaining uncertainties.

Unfortunately, uncertainty is never a fertile soil for economic development. Cautiousness is a wise, but costly strategy. Hence reducing uncertainty is a much better solution. Also, therefore, the EU should take the lead in the Brexit negotiations.

Step by step

So far the EU27 followed the principle that there was no Brexit deal as long as an agreement on particular issues was missing. The recent agreement on a transition period until the end of 2020 is therefore also not guaranteed, adding to the overall uncertainty. Therefore, it would be better to proceed step by step by concluding partial agreements. On a number of issues deals can be reached fast. A clear example is free trade in industrial products. Without such a deal, the most favoured nation tariffs will be applicable to British-European trade from March 2019 onwards. Although these tariffs are generally low, they imply substantial administrative costs for companies as well as logistic costs for governments as border controls have to be reinstalled. Hence, don’t let trade in industrial products become part of a strategic tit-for-tat negotiation game, but accept it as a basic principle. Moreover, such a deal would also help mitigate the Irish - Nothern Irish border issue as physical border controls would disappear.

For many other issues it is crucial to realize that the remaining negotiation time is simply too short. Rather then running against the wall, a realistic time table should be set up for the future. In the meantime, both partners should agree to continue the current situation, at least to guarantee legal protection. Said differently, conclude partial agreements as well as transitory agreements to reduce uncertainty in the medium run.

No Brexit?

While the risk of a no-deal Brexit has increased, the call for no-Brexit has advanced too, possibly via a new referendum. Though this scenario might seem attractive, one cannot neglect the democratic voice of the British people. However, one cannot exclude that the UK will rejoin the EU one day, in particular as the British society evolves too. In the referendum, some parts of the UK voted to remain in the EU (for example London and Scotland). Moreover, the younger generation is generally more in favour of EU membership too. Hence, let’s make sure the divorce deal will include a paragraph that the European door remains open for the UK.

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Dancing Queen causes additional Brexit damage due to restriction on immigration

EO20181010 Dancing Queen zorgt voor bijkomende brexit-schade door immigratiebeperking

UK economy temporarily putting up a defence against Brexit

Britse economie vecht tijdelijk terug tegen brexit

Turbulent autumn is coming

Turbulente herst in aantocht

Beyond Brexit: Land of Hope and Glory for international investors

Ondanks brexit blijft VK attractief voor internationale investeerders

Trade agreement with the EU is essential for the UK

Handelsakkoord met EU is essentieel voor het VK

Brexit deal includes clever strategy for future trade

EO20181115 Brexit-deal bevat slimme strategie voor toekomstige handel

L'UE doit sauver les négociations sur le Brexit étape par étape

Les négociations sur le Brexit entre le Royaume-Uni et l'Union européenne doivent être finalisées cette année. L'adhésion britannique à l'UE prend en effet fin le 29 mars 2019. Le moins que l'on puisse dire, c'est que les négociations ne se déroulent pas sans heurts ; nous pensons avant tout au chaos et aux désaccords politiques britanniques internes. Mais l'UE n'est pas exempte de toute faute. Le jeu politique actuel est franchement scandaleux, non professionnel, et risque bien de provoquer d'importants dommages tant pour le Royaume-Uni que pour l'UE. L'UE doit trouver des solutions proactives. Viser un accord universel est irréaliste et crée de grandes incertitudes, sans parler des coûts d'adaptation inutiles. Il est essentiel de trouver des accords partiels et de prévoir des plannings réalistes. Il est grand temps de changer radicalement d'approche.

Désaccord européen

Le 18 septembre dernier, les chefs d'État et de gouvernement européens se sont rencontrés à Vienne, sans le Royaume-Uni, afin de discuter du Brexit. Et de nouveau, force est de constater que les avis divergent au sein de l'UE. Les principaux partenaires commerciaux du Royaume-Uni - en particulier les petites économies comme l'Irlande, les Pays-Bas, le Danemark et, dans une certaine mesure, la Belgique indécise - plaident pour un Brexit doux. Il faut dire que plusieurs études montrent que ce sont ces pays-là qui ont le plus à perdre dans le Brexit. La France et l'Allemagne considèrent le Brexit comme une opportunité pour élargir leurs intérêts au sein de l'UE, et comme un dossier symbolique pour punir les membres dissidents pour leur tentative d'obtenir la souveraineté nationale. D'autres pays, dont les nouveaux États membres en Europe centrale et de l'Est, ne se sont jamais montrés très intéressés par le Brexit, pensant - à tort - que l'impact sur leur économie sera limité. Reste à voir s'ils seront du même avis lorsqu'ils constateront que moins de capitaux européens affluent vers leur Trésor ou lorsqu'ils écouleront moins de voitures d'Europe de l'Est sur le marché britannique. Les États membres d'Europe méridionale ont quant à eux suffisamment de soucis pour se préoccuper du Brexit. Compte tenu de ce désaccord au sein de l'Union des 27, le mandat du principal négociateur Michel Barnier reste vague. Barnier ne brille pas par sa créativité mais semble plutôt attendre des propositions britanniques, qui sont ensuite critiquées par les experts. En même temps, d'aucuns savent que Michel Barnier sera nommé candidat à la présidence de la Commission européenne ou à une autre fonction de premier rang. Cette ambition semble à l'origine d'une forte pulsion de profilage dans les négociations sur le Brexit, sans résultat concret jusqu'ici, il faut bien le dire. Attribuer le manque d'avancées dans les négociations à la seule politique britannique semble dès lors terriblement exagéré. L'UE a également sa part de responsabilité.

En outre, l'UE, et en particulier la Commission européenne, est la mieux placée pour élaborer un accord équilibré sur le Brexit. Les directions générales de la Commission européenne bénéficient de l'aide des plus grands spécialistes en termes de politique commerciale, d'investissements internationaux, de marché interne, etc. Ces spécialistes doivent être placés à la barre si l'on veut accélérer les négociations et ôter tout risque d'un non-deal ou d'un Brexit dur. Ce qui ne porte aucun préjudice à la souveraineté du Royaume-Uni. Un bon accord est en effet avantageux tant pour l'UE que pour le Royaume-Uni,

un fait qu'a également constaté le FMI cette semaine. Le FMI a mis en garde une fois encore contre l'impact négatif qu'aurait un non-deal. Selon les nouveaux calculs du FMI, une telle issue coûterait 1,5% de croissance à l'économie européenne, une statistique nettement supérieure à celles mises en avant dans des études précédentes. La Bank of England a pour sa part estimé le recul de la croissance britannique à 1,5%-2%. Dans un discours quasiment émotionnel, la patronne du FMI Christine Lagarde a appelé le Royaume-Uni et l'UE à prendre leurs responsabilités historiques. Si l'appel du FMI est louable, il arrive franchement tard. L'organisation internationale a de surcroît perdu beaucoup de crédibilité en prédisant à l'époque que le Brexit n'aurait pas lieu et que l'économie britannique s'effondrerait après le référendum. Rien n'était en effet moins vrai : l'économie britannique a continué d'aligner d'excellentes performances ces deux dernières années. À plus long terme, le FMI a sans doute raison. Une séparation dure limitera les possibilités de croissance des économies britannique et européenne en raison d'un accès moins aisé à chacun des marchés, d'une divergence en matière de réglementation et d'un manque général de coordination politique.

Et le paysan continuait de labourer...

Le monde des entreprises européennes semble actuellement le plus grand partisan d'une solution rapide et claire, de préférence en faveur d'un Brexit doux. Force est néanmoins de constater que de plus en plus de secteurs et d'entreprises prennent leurs précautions dans l'hypothèse d'un non-deal. Ce réalisme honore le monde des entreprises mais signifie aussi des coûts d'adaptation, p. ex. pour sécuriser une chaîne d'approvisionnement internationale efficiente. Les investissements étrangers au Royaume-Uni restent considérables mais ont perdu de l'ampleur, preuve que les entreprises européennes se positionnent spécifiquement et distinctement devant le marché britannique. Les grandes entreprises européennes se préparent donc clairement et tiennent compte des grandes incertitudes.

Et l'incertitude n'est malheureusement jamais un bon terreau pour l'économie. Faire preuve de prudence est sage mais estomper les incertitudes est une bien meilleure solution. C'est pour cette raison que l'UE des 27 doit prendre l'initiative et accélérer les négociations sur le Brexit.

Étape par étape

Jusqu'ici, l'UE des 27 suit le principe qu'il n'y a pas d'accord de séparation avec le Royaume-Uni tant que l'accord est incomplet. Et l'accord antérieur prévoyant une période de transition jusqu'à fin 2020 est de ce fait remis en question. L'incertitude en est devenue d'autant plus grande. Mieux vaudrait finaliser quelques accords partiels le plus rapidement possible. Des accords sont possibles pour certaines matières. Le libre-échange pour les biens industriels en est un bon exemple. Si l'on n'accepte pas ce principe, les taux de la Most Favoured Nation de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce seront en vigueur pour le commerce de biens britanniques et européens. Ces taux sont bas, du moins pour la plupart des produits industriels, mais ils représentent une importante surcharge administrative pour les entreprises et des frais logistiques pour les autorités pour la mise en place de bureaux de douane. Il ne faut pas faire du libre-échange des biens un enjeu dans un jeu de négociation stratégique plus large, mais l'accepter comme un principe de base. Une telle approche permettrait aussi de solutionner le problème de la frontière Irlande-Irlande du Nord en supprimant les contrôles frontaliers physiques.

Pour d'autres matières, il est essentiel de prendre conscience que le temps qui reste pour les négociations est trop court pour conclure des accords détaillés. Il est par conséquent crucial d'aménager un planning réaliste et, en attendant, de prolonger la situation actuelle - en ce compris la sécurité juridique. Autrement dit, de conclure différents accords de transition pour dissiper les incertitudes à moyen terme.

(No-)Brexit

Alors que le risque d'un non-deal augmente, l'appel visant à renoncer au Brexit ou à organiser un nouveau référendum se fait de plus en plus fort. Aussi attrayant ce scénario puisse-t-il paraître dans le chaos actuel, remonter le temps serait toujours considéré comme une méconnaissance de la voix démocratique du peuple britannique. Nous devrons ceci dit laisser la porte européenne ouverte au Royaume-Uni. La société britannique évolue elle aussi. Lors du référendum, certaines parties du Royaume-Uni ont clairement voté contre le Brexit (p. ex. Londres et l'Écosse), tout comme la jeune génération. Quoi qu'il en soit, arrangeons-nous pour que l'accord de séparation prévoie que le Brexit actuel ne signifie pas une séparation éternelle.

Cette page est-elle utile pour vous? Oui Non

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

En dépit du Brexit, le Royaume-Uni demeure attractif pour les investisseurs internationaux

Ondanks brexit blijft VK attractief voor internationale investeerders

L'économie britannique résiste, pour l’instant, à la perspective du Brexit

Britse economie vecht tijdelijk terug tegen brexit

L'accord commercial conclu avec l'UE est essentiel au Royaume-Uni

Handelsakkoord met EU is essentieel voor het VK

La Dancing Queen porte un nouveau coup au Brexit avec de nouvelles règles en matière d'immigration

EO20181010 Dancing Queen zorgt voor bijkomende brexit-schade door immigratiebeperking

Dialogue difficile entre l'Italie et l'Europe

MR20181113 Italië en Europa: gedoemde pennenvrienden

Raab refroidit l'ambiance

MR20181115 Raab haalt kersvers brexitoptimisme onderuit

Le dossier du Brexit n'effraie pas les investisseurs

MR20181116 Investeerders schuilen niet voor brexitstorm

L'accord sur le Brexit comporte une stratégie intelligente pour le commerce futur

EO20181115 Brexit-deal bevat slimme strategie voor toekomstige handel

L'écheveau du Brexit se complique de plus en plus

MR20181205 Marktrapport L'écheveau du Brexit se complique de plus en plus

Jour J pour le brexit: ni victoire, ni effondrement.

MR20181017 Marktrapport Brexit D-Day: zeker geen V-Day, maar ook geen Mayday

Brexit: la dernière ligne droite?

MR20190109 Marktrapport Brexit: in de laatste rechte lijn?

Journée cruciale pour le brexit

MR20190115 Marktrapport Dag van de brexit-reïncarnatie

Dancing queen’s Waterloo

MR20190116 Marktrapport Dancing queen’s Waterloo

La livre sterling profite des spéculations de report du Brexit

MR20181017 Marktrapport titel

Janvier en textes et en images: un paysage redessiné

MR20190201 Marktrapport Januari in woord en beeld: een hertekend landschap

BOE: une optimiste parmi les banques centrales?

MR20190208 Marktrapport BOE: de optimist onder centrale bankiers?
KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.