Dark clouds above the Belgian economy

We expect the current slowdown to be the prelude to lower economic growth in Belgium for the full year 2018. After all, many leading indicators point to a clear cooling off in the economy. In concrete terms, we are revising our GDP growth forecast for 2018 downwards from 1.9% to 1.6%. The potential growth rate for the Belgian economy, moreover, remains very weak. The reasons for the growth slowdown in 2018 are mainly international (in particular the weaker trade environment and more expensive oil), while the low growth potential is due to internal factors. The challenge of raising Belgium’s potential growth through structural reforms remains significant.

With 0.4% real economic growth in the first quarter of 2018, the Belgian economy was clearly disappointing. Belgium is thus following the general European trend after a strong 2017. In the same way, growth also slowed down in Belgium’s neighbouring countries compared to the last quarter of 2017. The growth decline at the beginning of 2018 came as a surprise to many. It was generally expected that GDP growth would continue to strengthen for some time in Belgium. Today, opinions are divided. Some see the weak first quarter as a temporary downturn. Others believe that the peak in the economic cycle is behind us. We are convinced of this second route, which is mainly due to the international context. What’s more, the Belgian economy is not only facing a weaker 2018. An expected slowdown in private investment and a lack of public investment also limit the future growth potential. Rapid and drastic reforms remain necessary in order to turn the tide in time. Otherwise, the Belgian economy is in danger of becoming a rudderless ship in turbulent international waters.

A first reason for the slowdown can be seen in falling export orders. Foreign demand for Belgian products and services is under pressure. This is partly due to increased protectionism - a trend that has been going on for several years - and the possible escalation of the various trade conflicts recently initiated by the United States. The strong focus of exports on the European market means that the Belgian economy is partly shielded from the international struggles. However, the country is indirectly affected because its main trading partners - Germany, France and the Netherlands - are more active in non-European markets. As suppliers to neighbouring countries, Belgian companies are often more affected as they themselves have less control over the entire export chain. The strong euro has also had a negative impact on European exports as a whole. Finally, Belgian labour costs are rising again after a period of wage moderation, once again jeopardising the country’s international competitive position. While Belgian exports are facing challenges, higher consumption demand is supporting imports thanks to increased job creation and rising disposable income. As a result, net exports will contribute negatively to growth.

A second factor that weighs on the outlook for the Belgian economy is the rise in the price of oil. Compared to other European economies, the Belgian economy is always relatively strongly influenced by oil price movements due to its large chemical sector and its relatively high energy intensity (e.g. because of relatively many older dwellings). The rise in the price of oil is due more to international tensions surrounding Iran than to a rise in the demand for oil. Such exogenous oil shocks typically have a downward effect on the Belgian economy.

A third factor, which is related to the above, is the sentiment of Belgian companies. Confidence indicators point to a general weakening of sentiment, which nevertheless still remains relatively positive. The picture is fairly uniform across sectors, with the exception of the construction sector. The worsening international climate is particularly affecting indicators in the manufacturing industry (see Figures 1 and 2). Weaker sentiment is likely to continue to weigh on the economic situation in the rest of this calendar year.

Figure 1 - Indicators in the manufacturing industry are turning lower

Source: NBB.Stat

Figure 2 - Indicators in the manufacturing industry are turning lower (standard deviation from long term average)

Source: NBB.Stat

Despite these negative factors, we also still see positive elements for the Belgian economy. The fact that effective economic growth remains above potential is mainly due to relatively strong consumption and investment growth. Both components compensate to a certain extent for the more difficult international conditions. The importance of private investment as a growth engine has increased particularly sharply in recent years. Unfortunately, it seems difficult to maintain growth through new investments. One reason is that further expansion in private investment is hampered by the tightness of the Belgian labour market. Moreover, despite the economy still being in an expansionary phase and the favourable financing possibilities for long-term investments, many Belgian investments are often focused on the shorter term. This is evidenced by the strong growth in corporate loans in the relatively short term. In combination with exceptionally low public investment, due to the challenges of public finances, Belgium is therefore failing to substantially increase its future growth potential.

For these reasons, we expect the Belgian economy to weaken. The strong performance of 2017, with growth accelerating from 1.4% to 1.7%, may not be matched in 2018. Various national and international institutions recently published their growth outlook for the Belgian economy. Their figures (averaging at 1.8% real GDP growth for 2018) imply a further pick-up in growth compared to 2017 and are likely to be too optimistic. We expect a lower figure (1.6% for 2018) that is closer to Belgium’s potential growth (1.4% according to the European Commission). This may seem like just a slight slowdown in growth, but it does contribute to a further persistent growth deficit compared to most of the neighbouring countries. With a potential growth rate of only 1.4%, Belgium’s performance is also structurally worse. This indicates that the challenges for the Belgian economy remain considerable. As a small open economy, Belgium can do little to change global conditions, but it can provide an environment in which structural investment strengthens its economy through necessary reforms. There is still work to be done.

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related articles

Les nuages s’amoncellent sur l’économie belge

KBC s’attend à ce que le ralentissement actuel de la croissance soit le précurseur d’un fléchissement de la croissance économique pour l’ensemble de l’année 2018 en Belgique. De nombreux indicateurs avancés, de même que nos propres modèles économiques, annoncent en effet un coup de frein marqué. Le rythme de croissance potentiel sous-jacent de l’économie belge est aussi très faible. Les raisons du ralentissement doivent être recherchées sur la scène internationale, tandis que le faible potentiel de croissance est dû à des facteurs internes.

La croissance économique réelle de 0,4% de l’économie belge au premier trimestre 2018 est une amère déception. La Belgique suit ainsi la tendance générale européenne après une année 2017 haute en couleurs. Par rapport au dernier trimestre 2017, la croissance ralentit aussi dans les pays voisins. Le déclin au début de 2018 en a surpris plus d’un. Tout le monde s’attendait à ce que l’accélération de la croissance perdure encore quelque temps en Belgique. Aujourd’hui, les opinions sont partagées. Certains considèrent ce premier trimestre atone comme un simple passage à vide temporaire. D’autres estiment que le présent cycle économique a connu ses meilleurs moments. Nous partageons ce second point de vue et pointons du doigt le contexte international. Mais il y a plus grave : l’économie belge ne sera pas seulement victime d’un accès de faiblesse en 2018. Une décrue des investissements privés et une pénurie d’investissements publics écorneront aussi notre potentiel de croissance. Des réformes promptes et énergiques restent nécessaires pour renverser la vapeur, faute de quoi l’économie belge fera figure de navire en détresse sur une mer économique démontée.

Le repli des commandes à l’exportation est la première cause du ralentissement de la croissance. La demande étrangère de produits et services belges est sous pression, principalement en raison de poussées protectionnistes - une tendance qui s’observe d’ailleurs depuis plusieurs années déjà - et du risque d’escalade des divers conflits commerciaux récemment déclenchés par les États-Unis. S’il est vrai que la forte concentration des exportations belges sur le marché européen nous met en partie à l’abri de ces empoignades internationales, nous en sommes affectés indirectement parce que nos principaux partenaires commerciaux - Allemagne, France et Pays-Bas - sont plus actifs sur les marchés non européens. En tant que fournisseurs des pays voisins, les entreprises belges sont souvent plus gravement touchées car elles ont elles-mêmes moins de prise sur l’ensemble de la chaîne d’exportation. L’euro relativement fort a en outre joué de vilains tours aux exportations partout en Europe. Et enfin, après une période de modération salariale, les coûts salariaux belges s’infléchissent à nouveau en hausse, mettant à mal notre compétitivité internationale. Alors que les exportations belges sont confrontées à de graves défis, la hausse de la demande de produits de consommation soutient les importations par la création d’emplois et une hausse du revenu disponible. De ce fait, les exportations nettes livreront une contribution négative à la croissance.

Un deuxième facteur qui pèse sur les perspectives de l’économie belge est la hausse du prix du pétrole. Par rapport à d’autres économies européennes, l’économie belge est toujours assez fortement exposée à l’évolution des prix du pétrole, notamment en raison de notre important secteur chimique et de notre intensité énergétique relativement élevée (par exemple à cause du grand nombre de logements vétustes). La hausse du prix du pétrole est davantage due aux tensions internationales entourant l’Iran qu’à une hausse de la demande de pétrole dans les conditions actuelles de haute conjoncture. Ces chocs pétroliers exogènes ont généralement un effet baissier sur l’économie belge. En outre, une hausse du prix du pétrole entraîne traditionnellement une détérioration de notre balance commerciale.

Un troisième facteur, lié au précédent, est le sentiment qui vit dans les entreprises belges. Si les indicateurs de confiance indiquent un assombrissement généralisé de l’humeur, on constate néanmoins qu’un optimisme relatif prévaut encore. La situation est assez uniforme d’un secteur à l’autre, à l’exception de celui de la construction. L’environnement international conflictuel affecte particulièrement les indicateurs de l’industrie manufacturière (figure 1). Cette morosité devrait continuer à peser sur la conjoncture économique pendant le reste de l’année.

Figure 1 - Indicateurs de l’industrie manufacturière

Source: NBB.Stat

Malgré ce tableau relativement sombre, certains éléments sont tout de même positifs pour l’économie belge. Le fait que la croissance économique réelle dépasse encore la croissance potentielle s’explique surtout par la hausse relativement soutenue de la consommation et des investissements. Ces deux composantes compensent dans une certaine mesure les conditions internationales plus difficiles. Ces dernières années, le rôle des investissements privés en tant que moteur de croissance s’est particulièrement développé. Malheureusement, il semble difficile de maintenir la cadence de la croissance par de nouveaux investissements. L’expansion des investissements privés est en effet entravée par l’exiguïté du marché de l’emploi belge. Malgré les conditions actuelles de haute conjoncture et les possibilités de financement favorables pour les investissements à long terme, de nombreux investissements belges restent encore concentrés sur le court terme. La forte hausse des crédits aux entreprises à relativement court terme en témoigne. Cette situation alliée à l’extrême atonie des investissements publics compte tenu des défis auxquels les finances publiques doivent faire face, entraîne que la Belgique ne parvient pas à relancer substantiellement son potentiel de croissance.

Pour ces diverses raisons, nous nous attendons à un ralentissement de la cadence de l’économie belge. La forte performance de 2017 - une accélération de la croissance de 1,4 % à 1,7 % - ne pourra être égalée en 2018. Diverses institutions nationales et internationales ont récemment publié leurs perspectives de croissance pour l’économie belge. Ces chiffres (croissance économique réelle moyenne de 1,8 % pour 2018) impliquent une nouvelle accélération de la croissance par rapport à 2017 et sont plus que probablement trop optimistes. Nous avançons un chiffre inférieur (1,6 % pour 2018, au lieu de 1,9%) plus conforme à la croissance potentielle de la Belgique (1,4 % selon la Commission européenne). Bien que modéré, ce ralentissement entretient tout de même un déficit de croissance par rapport à la plupart des pays voisins. Avec un taux de croissance potentiel de 1,4% à peine, le score de la Belgique est aussi structurellement moins bon. Il en résulte que les défis pour l’économie belge restent considérables. En tant que petite économie ouverte, nous n’avons guère d’influence sur les conditions mondiales. Néanmoins, des réformes indispensables contribueraient à mettre en place un contexte propice à des investissements structurels qui relanceraient notre économie. Il y a donc du pain sur la planche.

Disclaimer:

Toute opinion formulée dans les KBC Opinions Économiques représente l’opinion personnelle de l’auteur ou des auteurs. Any opinion expressed in this KBC Economic Opinions represents the personal opinion by the author(s). Ni la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché, ni la mesure dans laquelle ils seront corroborés par la réalité ne peuvent être garanties. Les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif. Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Elles ne peuvent être considérées comme des recommandations en investissement. La durabilité fait partie de la stratégie commerciale globale de KBC Group NV (voir https://www.kbc.com/fr/durabilite-de-l-entreprise.html). Nous tenons compte de cette stratégie dans le choix des sujets de nos publications, mais une analyse approfondie de l'évolution économique et financière nécessite d'aborder une plus grande variété de sujets. Cette publication relève de la ‘recherche en investissements’, telle que visée par la loi et la réglementation sur les marchés d’instruments financiers. Toute transmission, diffusion ou reproduction de ces informations, sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit, est interdite sans l’autorisation expresse, préalable et écrite de KBC Groupe SA. KBC et CBC Banque SA ne peut être tenu responsable de leur exactitude ou de leur exhaustivité.

Articles connexes

Nous utilisons des cookies et technologies similaires pour garantir le bon fonctionnement de notre site internet et rendre votre navigation plus agréable. Ils nous permettent aussi d’adapter notre site à vos besoins et préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou vous n’êtes pas d’accord?Cliquez ici.