Diversity of forms of cohabiting underestimated in policy

Households have changed drastically in recent decades. The classic ‘married family’ with a mother, father and two children has not been the norm for some time and has made room for several non-traditional forms of habitation. Belgium is one of the countries within Europe where the changes are happening the fastest. The government still has done little to respond to this. In its policies, it should increasingly take the consequences of the growing diversity into account when it comes to forms of habitation and eliminate discrimination as much as possible. Companies also focus far too much on the traditional family and will have to deliver more and more customisation to accommodate the increasingly diverse types of household.

Every second Sunday in February, the institution of marriage is celebrated in the form of World Marriage Day. There are not many reasons to celebrate, however. The life-long commitment of marriage is, after all, a prospect that appeals to fewer and fewer people. Since the 1970s, weddings – and church weddings in particular – have seen significant declines as has the corresponding classic family in Belgium. In their place came a patchwork of many non-traditional families and forms of cohabitation: unmarried (official or unofficial) cohabiting, newly formed families, single parents, LAT (living apart together), weekend relationships, rainbow families, multi-generational families, and so on.

This went hand in hand with a growing complexity and instability of the households. In concrete terms, this was expressed in a sharp drop in the average size of families and more and more children who do not live with both parents. Within Europe, Belgium is one of the countries where the changes in forms of cohabitation are taking place the fastest. A quarter of children in Belgium do not live with both (married or cohabiting) parents. That figure is only higher in Denmark and Latvia. Together with the UK and Ireland, Belgium is also counted among the EU countries with a large share (over 6%) of single parents with one child or more.
The fastest-growing type of household is singles without children (living in). In Belgium, the ‘singles’ group already represents more than a third of all households and nearly a fifth of all adults. These numbers are again far above the European norm. It partly concerns persons who are transitioning from one relationship to another, but more often it concerns a long-lasting or permanent living situation. As a result of the ageing population, there is an ever-increasing group of singles aged 65 and up, usually seniors who have lost their partner. Even more remarkable is that people in the younger age groups are more often, albeit not consciously, living alone. In Belgium, two out of three singles are younger than 65, compared to just slightly more than half in the whole of the EU.

Most demographers are predicting that the trends observed concerning new forms of (co)habiting will further expand over the coming decades. More specifically, they are assuming that the ‘thinning’ of households will continue to rise. This is particularly expressed in the fact that partners (and their children) will be even more loosely connected, as well as a further increase in the number of singles. That development shall integrate with other social economic trends, such as the ageing of the population, the increasing international migration and mobility of citizens, urbanisation and new forms of housing. Innovations in ICT, social networking and medical applications are likely to contribute to making the way in which people cohabit even more dynamic, too.

In Belgium, the Federal Planning Bureau issues predictions as part of its annual population forecasts about what the households will look like in the coming decades (see figure). Most striking is the strong further increase, both absolute and relative, of the singles (one-person households). In 2060, the end of the forecast horizon, their share amounts to 42% of all households, compared to 34% today. The share of cohabiting couples and single-parent families also continues to increase at the expense of married couples. There is no further division among the group of cohabiting couples, but it can be expected the rise thereof will also be accompanied by more newly formed couples and families.

Figure 1 - Evolution of various household types in Belgium 1990-2060 (amount in 100.000)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on data from the Federal Planning Agency

Major consequences and challenges

This rapidly and strongly changing situation concerning forms of cohabitation creates important societal and economic changes. As such, the demise of the traditional family and the substantial increase in the number of singles go hand in hand with a higher risk of poverty and social exclusion. After all, weaker ties undermine the joint care of, and for, family members. According to Eurostat figures, singles in Belgium represent roughly one third of all households but still also comprise half of all the poor. Furthermore, there is also a significant impact on the environment. On average, smaller and more unstable households result in significantly more energy and water consumption, waste production, traffic flows and housing units per head. As far as housing is concerned, there is the threat of a growing mismatch between the available housing stock and the housing needs of the households. The thinning of families, and the growing number of singles in particular, requires more small dwellings. New forms of cohabitation will increasingly necessitate more flexible forms of (co)habitation, such as co-housing. Given that decisions on buying a car, food, etc. often take place at a household level, last but not least the changes concerning (co)habiting also have an important impact on future consumption patterns. The even more diverse composition of the households will result in a fragmentation of needs, requiring more customised products and services for the various household types.

The stated changes result in considerable challenges, both for the government and companies. Although the classic family is no longer the norm, it still is for the majority of government policies. In said policies, the government should increasingly take the consequences of the growing diversity into account when it comes to forms of habitation and provide more neutral forms of habitation legislation and regulations. Discrimination between forms of habitation still exists today in the form of a higher tax burden on singles, for example. Companies also still often use traditional models of consumer segmentation that pay little attention to new, more complex and dynamic forms of (co)habiting. The changes will force them to offer more and more customised products and services to meet the specific needs and preferences of rapidly changing household types. This applies to the sharply rising group of singles in particular.

Was this page useful to you? Yes No

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related articles

La diversité, sous-estimée par les politiques

Les ménages ont considérablement évolué ces dernières décennies. La famille nucléaire classique a désormais fait place à une mosaïque d’organisations non traditionnelles. La Belgique est l’un des pays d’Europe où les changements sont les plus rapides, or sa politique ne s’adapte que trop lentement à ces mutations. Elle doit tenir davantage compte des conséquences de la diversification croissante des configurations, et faire en sorte d’éliminer les discriminations. Les entreprises, elles aussi restées sur l’idée de la famille traditionnelle, n'auront d’autre choix que de s’adapter à des organisations beaucoup plus diverses.

La Journée internationale du mariage a lieu chaque deuxième dimanche de février. Les raisons de faire la fête ne sont pourtant pas nombreuses : l’engagement à vie qu’est cette institution attire en effet de moins en moins. Depuis les années 1970, le mariage et en particulier, le mariage religieux, ainsi que la famille nucléaire classique qu’on lui associe souvent, ont considérablement reculé en Belgique. Ils sont désormais remplacés par une mosaïque d’organisations non traditionnelles : cohabitation (légale ou de fait), familles recomposées, famillesmonoparentales, relations à distance ou épisodiques, couples homosexuels, familles plurigénérationnelles, etc. 

Le phénomène engendre une complexité et une instabilité croissantes des ménages. La taille moyenne des ménages a considérablement diminué, tandis que de plus en plus d’enfants n’habitent pas avec leurs deux parents. La Belgique est l’un des pays d’Europe où les changements, à cet égard, sont les plus rapides. Un quart des enfants belges ne vivent pas avec leurs deux parents (mariés ou cohabitants). Seuls le Danemark et la Lettonie affichent un pourcentage plus élevé. Avec le Royaume-Uni et l’Irlande, la Belgique fait partie des pays d’Europe où vivent le plus grand nombre (plus de 6 %) de familles monoparentales.

Le type d’organisation familiale qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide est celle des isolés sans enfants (habitant au foyer). Les « célibataires » comptent en Belgique pour plus d’un tiers de l’ensemble des ménages, et pour près d’un cinquième de la population adulte. Là encore, ces statistiques sont bien supérieures à la moyenne européenne. Il s’agit de situations en partie transitoires, mais aussi, de plus en plus souvent, de longue durée, voire permanentes. Compte tenu du vieillissement de la population, le groupe des isolés - situation qui, généralement, fait suite à la perte du partenaire - âgés de plus de 65 ans s'étoffe. Il convient de souligner que les célibataires plus jeunes sont, volontairement ou non, de plus en plus nombreux. En Belgique, près de deux isolés sur trois ont moins de 65 ans, contre un peu plus d’un sur deux dans l’intégralité de l’Union européenne.

Selon la plupart des démographes, les tendances constatées en matière de nouvelle organisation familiale vont s’intensifier au cours des prochaines décennies. Ils estiment que les ménages vont continuer à se « déliter » : les liens entre partenaires (et leurs enfants) vont se distendre, cependant que le nombre d’isolés ne cessera de croître. Cette tendance va interagir avec d’autres évolutions socio-économiques, comme le vieillissement, l’accélération des migrations internationales, l’intensification de la mobilité des citoyens, l’urbanisation et les nouvelles formes de logement. Les innovations dans les domaines de l’informatique, des réseaux sociaux et des applications médicales pourraient, elles aussi, contribuer à multiplier les configurations.

En Belgique, le Bureau fédéral du Plan établit, dans le cadre de ses prévisions démographiques (« Perspectives de population annuelles »), des pronostics sur les diverses formes qu’adopteront les ménages au cours des prochaines décennies (voir le figure). L’évolution la plus remarquable sera l’accroissement, aussi bien absolu que relatif, du nombre d’isolés : en 2060 (fin de l’horizon étudié), ceux-ci représenteront 42 % des ménages, contre 34 % aujourd’hui. Les couples cohabitants et les familles monoparentales augmenteront également, au détriment des couples mariés. La catégorie des couples cohabitants n’est pas détaillée plus avant, mais l’on peut supposer que son augmentation ira de pair avec celle du nombre de couples et ménages recomposés.

Figure 1 - Evolution des divers types de ménages en Belgique entre 1990 et 2060 (par 100.000)

Source : KBC Economic Research, sur la base des chiffres publiés par le Bureau fédéral du Plan

Conséquences et défis

Ces mutations rapides et marquées engendrent d’importants changements économiques et sociaux. Le recul de la famille traditionnelle et la nette augmentation du nombre d’isolés accentuent les risques de pauvreté et d’exclusion sociale. Le délitement des liens nuit en effet à la solidarité intrafamiliale. D’après Eurostat, les isolés, qui représentent en Belgique un tiers environ des ménages, constituent également près de la moitié des personnes fragilisées. L’incidence de cette situation sur l’environnement ne peut être sous-estimée. Des ménages en moyenne plus petits et plus instables signifient une consommation d’énergie et d’eau, une production de déchets, des transports et des unités d’habitation généralement plus élevés par tête d’habitant. L’on constate en outre une disparité croissante entre les logements disponibles et les besoins en la matière. La diminution de la taille des ménages - et, plus précisément, l’augmentation du nombre d’isolés - entraîne un besoin croissant d’habitations plus petites. Les nouveaux modes de vie exigeront des formes de plus en plus flexibles d’habitation et de cohabitation, comme le logement collectif. Les décisions d’achat (véhicule, alimentation, etc.) étant souvent prises en fonction de la configuration du ménage, toutes ces mutations auront une incidence significative sur les schémas de consommation. La composition de plus en plus hétérogène des familles engendrera une fragmentation des besoins, qui se traduira par une multiplication du nombre de produits et services conçus à la mesure des divers types de ménages.
Ces mutations feront naître de nombreux défis, aussi bien pour les pouvoirs publics que pour les entreprises. Bien que la famille nucléaire ne soit plus la norme, elle le reste, en grande partie, aux yeux des décideurs politiques : le gouvernement doit donc davantage tenir compte des conséquences de l’intensification de la diversité des formes de vie, et veiller à ce que la législation et la réglementation soient plus neutres dans ce domaine (la discrimination se traduit par exemple par une pression fiscale plus intense sur les célibataires). Les segmentations traditionnelles pratiquées par les entreprises tiennent elles aussi insuffisamment compte des configurations nouvelles, plus complexes et plus dynamiques. Or ces mutations exigeront des entreprises qu’elles conçoivent un nombre sans cesse croissant de produits et services à la mesure des besoins et des préférences spécifiques de ces nouveaux types de ménages, tout particulièrement pour le groupe, en augmentation constante, des isolés.

Cette page est-elle utile pour vous? Oui Non

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

Articles connexes

KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.