Biodiversity: an underappreciated factor of production

Economic opinion

Adding to the myriad of reasons for global policymakers to take serious steps towards mitigating climate change, the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) published a stark warning two weeks ago. Biodiversity is plummeting and about one million plant and animal species out of the estimated eight million on the planet are at risk of extinction, many within the next decades. Beyond a purely environmental perspective, this warning is also startling in terms of the global economic outlook. The natural environment and its processes provide numerous benefits to humans, including in economic ventures. As such, an ecosystem’s biodiversity is arguably a very important factor in determining potential growth. Furthermore, just as investments need to be made to offset the depreciation of other assets, investments are needed to protect and restore the environment. This is one example of how the realities of climate change require economists to adapt their thinking, and one further reason why policymakers must act now to mitigate climate change.

Potential output: an elusive concept

Potential output is a crucial yet elusive concept in economics. It is often defined as the maximum sustainable (that is, without causing inflation) output an economy can produce given the capital stock, the structural labour input and productivity. It is therefore different than actual GDP and is used to distinguish between shorter-term cyclical dynamics and structural changes in trend growth. If actual GDP growth is below potential growth there is said to be an output gap. This concept can be used by central banks to assess the appropriate stance of monetary policy and by governments to assess fiscal policy from a more structural perspective. Thus, the measurement of potential growth has important policy consequences.

Potential growth, however, cannot be observed or measured outright and must be estimated instead. Furthermore, there are many ways to estimate potential growth. Statistical methods look at historical real GDP series and break them into trend and cyclical components (with the trend representing potential output). The production function approach, in contrast, relies on economic theory to determine a relationship between factors of production (capital, labour, technology etc.) and potential output. This relationship is known as the production function. A commonly used example of such a production function is the Cobb-Douglas Function:

Y = ALα K(1-α)

where Y = output, L = labour input (hours worked), K = capital input, α = the output elasticity of labour, and A = total factor productivity (the change in output that cannot be accounted for by changes in inputs L and K. It is often associated with technological change.)

Besides the different methods for estimating potential output, and the different production functions that can be assumed, there are also differences in determining and measuring what exactly comprises the capital stock. Is only physical capital included, such as machines, equipment and factories, or does it also include land? Regardless, whatever is not captured by the labour and capital inputs is captured instead by total factor productivity.

Biodiversity: an underappreciated factor of production

Conservationists have long warned of the importance of preserving nature and Earth’s biodiversity, but such warnings can go in one ear and out the other for those who feel removed from nature in their everyday lives. As the IPBES points out, however, humans rely on the natural environment for “food, feed, energy, medicines and genetic resources, and a variety of materials.” We also depend on environmental processes for fresh water, clean air, rich soil, pollination of more than 75% of global food crops, pest control, and the capture of 60% of human-produced carbon emissions. From an economic perspective, these natural assets have tangible benefits for productivity and output that can even be measured in dollar terms. The IPBES, for example, states that “land degradation has reduced productivity in 23 percent of the global terrestrial area, and between $235 billion and $577 billion in annual global crop output is at risk as a result of pollinator loss.” Those figures represent 9-22% of total agricultural crop production in 2016. Thus, the health of Earth’s biosphere clearly contributes to potential growth, even if it is not explicitly measured or identified as an input.

Other known impacts of climate change may also have a negative effect on potential output and output itself. First, the increasing prevalence of extreme weather can impact crop production, prevent some workers from getting to work, interfere with supply chains, and shrink consumption (though there would be an expected bounce back for some but not all spending when the weather improves). Many economists attributed the temporary contraction of the US economy in Q1 2014, for example, to several severe snowstorms that hit the country that winter. Second, the deterioration of air and water quality increases health risks that could in turn hinder the size of the labour force. Third, the decline in diversity of plants and animals undermines the resilience of agricultural systems and increases the risk of sudden severe declines in food production. As such, the warning from the IPBES should be heeded by economists and policymakers globally. If steps are not taken to prevent the path laid out by IPBES, potential growth will suffer (among many other things).  

A need for investment

The realities of climate change require economists to adapt their thinking, including on the measurement and estimation of potential growth. For example, when economists estimate the future capital stock, they also incorporate the concept of depreciation: 

Kt=(1-δt ) K(t-1)+It

where δt = the depreciation rate and It = new investment. When discussing physical capital, this depreciation represents the normal wear and tear of factories and machinery, or the process of software becoming outdated. Depreciation also occurs with human capital, usually as skill sets become obsolete or a large share of the population is out of work for an extended time and falls behind in terms of training. It also makes sense then, to talk about the depreciation of the natural environment. As humans make use of the environmental assets mentioned above, this use weighs on the productive capacity of the environment. Therefore, just as investments need to be made to replenish the capital stock—whether that is buying new equipment, updating software, or investing in the education of the labour force—so too do investments need to be made to protect and replenish the environment.

The UN estimated in 2011 that green investments worth 2% of global GDP would lead to long-term growth over 2011-2050 “that could be at least as high as an optimistic business-as-usual scenario, while minimizing the adverse impacts of climate change, water scarcity and the loss of ecosystem services.” When one considers that those adverse impacts of climate change are likely not compatible with a business-as-usual scenario in terms of economic growth, it becomes clear that policymakers should act now to mitigate climate change.
 

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) at the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice. KBC Groep NV makes no warranties as to the extent to which the scenarios, risks and forecasts proposed reflect market expectations, nor as to the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative. The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments. Save the express prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means. KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Related publications

Investment in sustainable government bonds - Sustainability of emerging markets: 2018 update

ERR 201901 Beleggen in duurzame overheidsobligaties EM

Country sustainability analysis: a crucial yard-stick for investors

EO20190115 Duurzaamheidsanalyse van landen: een cruciale maatstaf voor beleggers

Investment in sustainable government bonds - Sustainability of developed markets: 2018 update

ERR 201901 Beleggen in duurzame overheidsobligaties DM

Electric driving, a privilege for rich countries?

EO20190201 Elektrisch rijden, een privilege voor de rijke landen?
KBC uses cookies to make your online experience easier and to fit your needs and preferences. By browsing the KBC site, you agree to the use of these cookies. Learn more and see how to decline cookies?Click here.

La biodiversité : un facteur de production sous-estimé

Opinion économique

De toutes parts, les décideurs mondiaux sont sommés de prendre des mesures drastiques pour endiguer le changement climatique. Il y a quinze jours, la Plate-forme intergouvernementale sur la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques (IPBES) y a ajouté un sévère avertissement : la biodiversité s'effondre. Un million environ d’espèces animales et végétales – soit une sur huit – risquent de disparaître, dont une grande partie dans les prochaines décennies. Ce signal d'alarme est effrayant non seulement au niveau strictement écologique, mais aussi en termes de perspectives pour l'économie mondiale. La biodiversité d'un écosystème constitue en effet un facteur distinct et essentiel dans l'estimation de la croissance potentielle. L'être humain dépend de son milieu naturel et des processus environnementaux. Ce sont là des "actifs naturels" qui présentent des avantages tangibles pour la productivité et l'output. Tout comme des investissements sont nécessaires pour compenser l'amortissement d'autres actifs, des investissements sont requis pour la protection et la restauration de l'environnement. Les décideurs doivent agir aujourd'hui pour limiter le changement climatique.

La croissance potentielle : un concept intangible

L'output potentiel est un facteur économique crucial, mais assez abstrait. Il est souvent défini comme la production maximale que peut générer une économie vu ses stocks de capital disponibles, sa force de travail et sa productivité, sans causer d'inflation. Le concept se distingue ainsi de l'output effectif, ou Produit Intérieur Brut (PIB). Il est utilisé pour faire la distinction entre les évolutions conjoncturelles à court terme, et les changements structurels dans la croissance tendancielle. Si la croissance réelle du PIB est inférieure à la croissance potentielle, il peut être question de décalage conjoncturel ("output gap"). Cette notion peut être utilisée par les banques centrales pour juger du bon cap à donner à la politique budgétaire, à partir d'une perspective plus structurelle. Mesurer la croissance potentielle a donc d'importantes conséquences politiques.

Elle ne peut toutefois pas être observée ou quantifiée directement, mais doit être estimée. Il existe de nombreuses manières différentes d'évaluer la croissance potentielle. Les méthodes statistiques examinent les séries historiques du PIB effectif, et les scindent en composantes tendancielles et cycliques (la tendance représentant la production potentielle). L'approche de la fonction de production, par contre, repose sur la théorie économique établissant un lien entre facteurs de production (capital, travail, technologie, etc.) et production potentielle. Ce lien est appelé "fonction de production". Un exemple fréquemment utilisé d'une telle fonction de production est la fonction de Cobb-Douglas,

Y = ALα K(1-α)

où Y correspond au niveau de production (output), K à celui du capital, L à celui du travail (heures ouvrées), α à l'élasticité de l'output du travail, et A à la productivité totale des facteurs (c'est-à-dire les changements dans l'output qui ne peuvent être expliqués par des changements dans les indices L et K; A est souvent associée aux évolutions technologiques).


Il existe donc différentes méthodes d'évaluation de la croissance potentielle, et il est possible d'émettre plusieurs hypothèses sur la nature du lien entre les différents facteurs de production. La définition et la mesure exactes du stock de capital peuvent elles aussi varier. S'agit-il là uniquement du capital physique – machines, outils, usines – ou aussi des terrains ? Indépendamment de cette question, tout ce qui n'est pas repris dans les indices travail et capital est considéré comme relevant de la productivité totale des facteurs.

La biodiversité : un facteur de production sous-estimé

Il y a bien longtemps que les écologistes soulignent l'importance de la conservation de la nature et de la biodiversité. Mais leurs cris d'alarme ne trouvent pas vraiment écho auprès de ceux qui se préoccupent peu de l'environnement. L'IPBES indique pourtant que l'être humain dépend de son environnement naturel pour son alimentation et celle du bétail, pour l'énergie, les médicaments, les ressources génétiques, et un grand nombre de matériaux. Nous dépendons également des processus naturels pour l'eau douce, pour la pureté de l'air, pour la richesse des sols, la pollinisation de plus de 75% des cultures destinées à l'alimentation, la lutte contre les nuisibles, et la capture de 60% des émissions de CO2 dues à l'activité humaine. Tous ces "actifs naturels" présentent des avantages économiques tangibles pour la productivité et la production – avantages qui peuvent même être chiffrés financièrement. L'IPBES avance par exemple que la dégradation des sols a réduit la productivité de 23% de la superficie terrestre. Et dans le monde, ce sont chaque année entre 235 et 577 milliards de dollars de récoltes qui sont en péril en raison de la disparition des pollinisateurs... soit de 9 à 22% de la production totale des cultures agricoles en 2016. La bonne santé de la biosphère terrestre contribue donc indubitablement à la croissance potentielle, même si celle-ci ne peut être quantifiée explicitement ou identifiée comme facteur entrant.

D'autres effets connus du changement climatique peuvent également avoir un impact négatif sur la production potentielle ou réelle. En premier lieu, des conditions climatiques extrêmes toujours plus fréquentes peuvent avoir un impact sur la croissance des cultures agricoles. Elles peuvent aussi compliquer les déplacements des travailleurs vers leur lieu de travail, ou perturber les chaînes de livraison, avec à la clé une possible baisse de la consommation, même si celle-ci peut être partiellement rattrapée une fois l'orage passé. De nombreux économistes ont ainsi attribué la contraction temporaire de l'économie américaine au premier trimestre 2014 à de violentes tempêtes de neige. Deuxièmement, la dégradation de la qualité de l'air et de l'eau va augmenter les risques pour la santé, freinant la croissance de la population active. Troisièmement, le recul de la diversité de la faune et de la flore compromet la résilience des systèmes agricoles, et fait grimper le risque d'effondrement soudain de la production alimentaire. Les économistes et décideurs du monde entier ont donc tout intérêt à ne pas négliger l'avertissement de l'IPBES. Si aucune mesure n'est prise pour remédier aux problèmes pronostiqués par la Plate-forme, la croissance potentielle, notamment, en pâtira.  

Besoin en investissements

La réalité du changement climatique exige que les économistes changent de mentalités, notamment au niveau de la mesure et de l'estimation de la croissance potentielle. Lorsqu'ils évaluent par exemple l'ampleur du stock de capital futur, les économistes reprennent également le concept d'"amortissement" dans leurs calculs,

Kt=(1-δt ) K(t-1)+It

où δt représente le coefficient d'amortissement et It les nouveaux investissements. Pour le capital physique, les amortissements prennent en compte l'usure normale des usines et machines, ou l'obsolescence des logiciels. Le capital humain (human capital) est également "amorti", parce que les compétences peuvent elles aussi devenir obsolètes, en particulier en cas de chômage de longue durée, pendant lequel les travailleurs sont privés de formation. Il est pertinent de parler par analogie de déperdition de la valeur de l'environnement naturel. Les "actifs naturels" (voir supra) sont exploités, ce qui pèse sur la capacité de production de l'environnement. Pour la protéger et la restaurer, des investissements sont donc requis, à l'instar des investissements nécessaires pour de nouvelles machines, de nouveaux logiciels et des formations.

Suivant une estimation des Nations Unies en 2011, des investissements "verts" à hauteur de 2% du PIB mondial permettraient à la croissance économique de se maintenir, pendant la période 2011-2050, à hauteur au moins d'un scénario optimiste "business-as-usual", tout en comprimant les effets négatifs du changement climatique, pénuries d'eau et perte des services écosystémiques. Sachant que les effets néfastes du changement climatique rendent déjà hautement improbable le scénario "business-as-usual", il est clair que les décideurs doivent agir, sans plus attendre, pour limiter le changement climatique.
 

Disclaimer:

Tous les avis repris dans les Opinions économiques KBC reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable.
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif.
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit.
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

Publications liées

La conduite électrique, le privilège des pays riches?

EO20190201 Elektrisch rijden, een privilege voor de rijke landen?

Investir dans les obligations d'État durables - pays développés: 2018 actualisation

ERR 201901 Beleggen in duurzame overheidsobligaties DM

Investir dans les obligations d'État durables - marchés émergents : 2018 actualisation

ERR 201901 Beleggen in duurzame overheidsobligaties EM

Analyse de la durabilité des pays: un critère essentiel pour les investisseurs

EO20190115 Duurzaamheidsanalyse van landen: een cruciale maatstaf voor beleggers
KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.