Emerging market vulnerabilities and weaknesses

Emerging markets have taken a beating in recent months. Though turbulence in Argentina and Turkey—whose currencies have respectively lost 54% and 39% of their value against the USD this year—have dominated the headlines, they are not the only emerging markets to face increased market volatility. Such volatility in emerging markets is common when the Federal Reserve is in the middle of a policy tightening cycle. Indeed, with interest rates in the U.S. rising and expected to rise further, some emerging markets may find it more difficult to secure (re)financing from international capital markets. Furthermore, a loss of market confidence and associated pressure on a country’s currency can have sizable repercussions for growth, especially when financial stability considerations push central banks to raise interest rates. Therefore, it is worth considering the vulnerabilities of several emerging markets and possible implications of further market turbulence.

Why are emerging markets in the spotlight?

For years after the financial crisis, major central banks such as the Federal Reserve and the ECB lowered interest rates to zero (or even negative) and implemented unconventional, quantitative easing policies. During this period of very easy financial conditions, emerging markets also had notably easier access to financing. Capital flows to emerging markets recovered and, save for a dip in 2015-2016, remained strong until recently (figure A). Furthermore, many emerging markets racked up sizable debt positions, some of which are denominated in foreign currency.

Figure A - EM Non-Resident Capital Flows (USD tn)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on IIF

Now, however, the Federal Reserve is in the midst of a hiking cycle and is winding down its balance sheet, which had grown substantially thanks to quantitative easing. The ECB is also set to end its monthly Asset Purchase Programme by the end of 2018, though a first rate hike isn’t expected until after summer 2019. With global interest rates rising, a stronger USD, and financial conditions tightening, markets appear to be reconsidering whether ‘search for yield’ behaviour may have led to a misallocation of funds in previous years.

Reflecting such concerns, net capital flows to emerging markets have dropped off since the beginning of the year. A sudden decline, or even reversal of capital flows and more limited access to international financing means that a country has to very quickly adjust its macroeconomic imbalances, such as its current account deficit or fiscal deficit. When market forces necessitate an abrupt adjustment of a country’s current account deficit, for example, this either requires a decline in imports or an increase in exports. Of course, a weaker currency helps in both regards. As such, it is not surprising that the currencies of those emerging markets with the largest imbalances have generally come under the most pressure this year.

Not all sources of financing to emerging markets are the same however. As seen in figure A, foreign direct investment (FDI) tends to be much more stable than volatile portfolio investment. Countries that are more reliant on portfolio flows, therefore, are more vulnerable to a sudden shift in risk sentiment. Furthermore, fears of further losses on emerging market assets may spur holders of that country’s debt to either sell the assets or hedge their currency exposure, putting additional pressure on the currency. This means that countries with a higher proportion of debt held by non-residents are also more vulnerable.

Which countries have the highest imbalances?

As seen in figure B, the Argentine peso (ARS), Turkish Lira (TRY), Brazilian real (BRL), South African Rand (ZAR), Russian rouble (RUB), Indian rupee (INR), Chilean peso (CLP) and Indonesian rupiah (IDR) have all depreciated significantly against the USD this year (~9% or more). In many cases, the central bank and authorities have had to intervene to stabilize the currency. Though of course, idiosyncratic factors are at play for countries like Argentina and Turkey (i.e. a legacy of debt defaults and an erosion of policy norms, respectively), each of these economies have notable imbalances or weaknesses related to their financing needs. In terms of the balance of payments, for example, Turkey, Argentina, South Africa and Indonesia, all have current account deficits larger than 2.0% of GDP. Furthermore, Argentina and South Africa have a notably high reliance on portfolio investment (figure C).

Figure B - Change in emerging market currencies vs USD (in %, as of 18 September 2018)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on Macrobond

Figure C - Balance of Payments, 4Q-rolling (% of GDP)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on national authorities

Several of the countries whose currencies were hardest hit in recent months also have either sizable fiscal deficits, high levels of public debt relative to GDP (or both). What’s more, a non-negligible portion of that government debt, in addition to corporate debt, is denominated in USD for several emerging markets (figure D). Finally, while many emerging markets have international reserves which more than cover short-term external debt, Argentina and Turkey either fall short, or have reserves just equal to short-term external debt.

Figure D - Foreign Currency Debt, % of GDP (Q1 2018)

Source: KBC Economic Research based on IIF

Taken together, as seen in figure E, it is not surprising which economies have endured the most market turbulence this year. It is also worth pointing out, however, that while several emerging market economies have notable vulnerabilities, those of Argentina and Turkey, which have clearly spun into crisis-mode, are far more substantial. Furthermore, for many emerging markets, several of these metrics are much stronger than compared to previous crisis periods. Indeed, the fact that most of these emerging markets now have a floating or managed-float currency, rather than one pegged to the dollar, means that the necessary adjustments can take place. Hence, though emerging markets in general have faced market pressure this year, it does not necessarily mean that crisis-like conditions will spill over to all emerging markets.

Figure E - Vulnerabilities heat map

Source: KBC Economic Research based on Macrobond, National Authorities and IIF

What are the consequences?

The authorities in emerging markets do have policy tools available to combat market volatility. Indeed, in response to pressure from markets, authorities and central banks in several of these economies have raised interest rates, intervened in currency markets, and proposed new fiscal adjustments. In Argentina and Turkey, the respective central banks have raised rates a whopping 3,125 and 1,600 basis points respectively since the start of the year. They are not alone though. The Indonesian central bank has raised rates 125 basis points to combat the rupiah’s worst slide since 1998 and has intervened in the market by selling reserves and purchasing local currency denominated bonds. India’s central bank has raised its policy rate as well, while the Central Bank of Brazil cut short an easing cycle in response to weakness in the BRL.

Such actions are not without consequence, however. Indeed, a decline in capital flows, subsequent forced adjustment of macroeconomic imbalances, and rising interest rates to support the currency can all be a significant drag on growth. This weakening comes at a time when several emerging markets are already facing headwinds to growth, or only experiencing tepid recoveries which could easily be derailed by further adverse developments. Increased uncertainty due to escalating global trade conflicts, especially between the U.S. and China (but also with regard to NAFTA renegotiations and U.S.-E.U. trade relations), are also weighing on market sentiment towards emerging markets. Additional tariffs between the U.S. and China, for example, could have spill over effects for smaller Asian economies that are highly integrated into China’s export value chains.

Hence, it is likely to continue to remain a difficult period for emerging markets for some time. Given dollar strength and various lingering uncertainties, economies that still need to undertake macroeconomic adjustments will likely continue to face market pressure or weaker growth. However, it is clear that some emerging markets are in a much better position relative to their peers and market pressure doesn’t mean an economy will tailspin into crisis. The risk remains that sentiment towards emerging markets could sour completely, leading to across the board sudden stops in capital flows and plummeting currencies, but for most economies at the moment, the turbulence appears to be just turbulence.

Disclaimer:

All opinions expressed in this publication represent the personal opinions of the author(s) on the date stated therein and are subject to change without notice.
KBC Groep NV does not guarantee the extent to which the proposed scenarios, risks and forecasts reflect market expectations, nor the extent to which they will actually materialise. All forecasts are indicative.
The data in this publication are general and purely informative. The information cannot be considered as an offer to sell or buy financial instruments. Nor can it be considered as investment advice, investment recommendation or "investment research" within the meaning of the law and regulations on the markets in financial instruments.
Except with the explicit prior and written consent of KBC Groep NV, any transfer, sale, distribution or reproduction of the information, publication and data is prohibited, regardless of form or means.
KBC Groep NV cannot be held liable for the accuracy or completeness of the information or for the direct or indirect damage that would result from the use of this document.

Euroscepticism will not bring the EU down

EO20190513 Euroscepticisme zal EU niet klein krijgen

China's household debt problem

ERR20190506 China's household debt problem

Pension reform in Brazil: high hopes quickly dashed

EO20190408 Pension reform in Brazil: high hopes quickly dashed

Turkey: time to abandon Erdoganomics?

EO20190404 Turkey: time to abandon Erdoganomics?
KBC uses cookies to make your online experience easier and to fit your needs and preferences. By browsing the KBC site, you agree to the use of these cookies. Learn more and see how to decline cookies?Click here.

Vulnérabilités et faiblesses des économies émergentes

Les économies émergentes ont reçu une gifle ces derniers mois. Les monnaies de l’Argentine et de la Turquie ont déjà perdu respectivement 54% et 39% de leur valeur par rapport au dollar cette année. Ces deux pays ont dès lors fait les gros titres. Mais ils ne sont pas les seuls pays émergents à avoir souffert d'une volatilité accrue sur le marché. Dans ces pays, une telle volatilité se rencontre plus fréquemment lorsque la Réserve fédérale américaine s’emploie à resserrer sa politique. Maintenant que les taux d’intérêt s'inscrivent à la hausse aux États-Unis et qu'ils continueront vraisemblablement à augmenter, certains pays émergents éprouvent davantage de difficultés pour se (re)financer sur les marchés financiers internationaux. En outre, une perte de confiance dans le marché, avec la pression qui en résulte sur la monnaie, peut avoir un impact significatif sur la croissance économique, surtout si la Banque centrale est contrainte de relever les taux d’intérêt pour préserver la stabilité financière. Il n’est donc pas inutile de se pencher un moment sur la vulnérabilité des différentes économies émergentes et les conséquences éventuelles d'une agitation persistante sur les marchés.

Pourquoi les marchés émergents sont-ils sous le feu des projecteurs ?

Après la crise financière, les grandes banques centrales comme la réserve fédérale et la BCE ont réduit les taux d’intérêt jusqu’au niveau zéro (voire encore davantage). Pendant des années, elles ont mené une politique non conventionnelle avec un assouplissement quantitatif. Cela a permis, y compris aux économies émergentes, d'accéder beaucoup plus facilement aux marchés financiers durant cette période. Les flux de capitaux vers les marchés émergents se sont rétablis et sont restés soutenus jusqu’il y a peu, si l’on excepte un creux en 2015-2016 (figure A). Bon nombre d’économies émergentes ont, dans ce contexte, accumulé des dettes considérables, en partie en devises étrangères.

Figure A - Flux de capitaux vers les (+) et en provenance des (-) économies émergentes (en milliards USD)

Source:KBC Economic Research, d’après IFF (2018)

À présent, la Réserve fédérale resserre résolument sa politique : elle relève le taux directeur et a commencé à réduire son total du bilan qui, avec l’assouplissement quantitatif, avait sérieusement enflé. La BCE va elle aussi mettre fin à son programme mensuel d’achat d’actifs d’ici fin 2018, même si elle ne procédera vraisemblablement à un premier relèvement du taux directeur qu’après l’été 2019. Avec la montée actuelle des taux d’intérêt au niveau mondial, le renforcement de l’USD et le resserrement des conditions financières, les marchés financiers semblent à nouveau se demander si la « recherche de rendement » des dernières années n’a pas conduit à une mauvaise allocation des ressources.

Cette inquiétude implique que le flux net de capitaux vers les marchés émergents a baissé depuis le début de l'année. Les pays sont confrontés à une diminution soudaine voire une inversion des flux de capitaux et ont beaucoup plus de mal à accéder aux financements internationaux. Cela signifie qu'il convient de corriger très rapidement les déséquilibres macroéconomiques, tels que le déficit du compte courant ou le déficit budgétaire. Si par exemple les marchés exigent un ajustement drastique du déficit sur le compte courant, le pays doit réduire ses importations ou accroître ses exportations. Une monnaie plus faible les y aidera dans les deux cas. Rien d'étonnant dès lors si les pays émergents présentant les plus grands déséquilibres ont dans l’ensemble subi la plus forte pression sur leur monnaie cette année.

Mais toutes les sources de financement pour les marchés émergents ne sont pas les mêmes. Comme le montre la figure A, les investissements directs étrangers (IDE) sont en général beaucoup plus stables que les investissements de portefeuille volatils. Les pays plus dépendants à l’égard des investissements de portefeuille sont dès lors plus vulnérables à un changement brusque au niveau du sentiment de risque. La crainte de nouvelles pertes sur leurs investissements peut ensuite inciter les titulaires de dettes de pays émergents à vendre leurs investissements ou à couvrir leurs risques de change. Ce qui accentue encore la pression sur la monnaie. Cela signifie que même des pays dont la dette est détenue pour une part relativement importante par des non-résidents présentent une vulnérabilité accrue.

Quels pays affichent les plus grands déséquilibres ?

Comme le montre la figure B, le peso argentin (ARS), la livre turque (TRY), le réal brésilien (BRL), le rand sud-africain (ZAR), le rouble russe (RUB), la roupie indienne (INR), le peso chilien (CLP) et la roupie indonésienne (IDR) ont tous vu leur valeur baisser fortement par rapport au dollar américain (9% ou plus). Dans bien des cas, la banque centrale et d’autres autorités ont dû intervenir pour stabiliser la monnaie. Pour des pays comme l'Argentine et la Turquie, des facteurs spécifiques sont à l'œuvre, notamment une réputation de rejet de la dette ou un estompement des normes politiques. Mais toutes ces économies présentent un point commun : elles font face à de sérieux déséquilibres ou pratiquent un modèle de financement vulnérable. La Turquie, l’Argentine, l’Afrique du Sud et l’Indonésie affichent ainsi un déficit sur leur compte courant de plus de 2% du PIB. Afin de financer ces déficits, l’Argentine et l’Afrique du Sud dépendent en outre fortement des investissements de portefeuille (figure C).

Figure B - Taux de change des monnaies des économies émergentes (variation en pourcentage par rapport à l’USD au 18 septembre 2018)

Source: KBC Economic Research, d’après Macrobond

Figure C - Balance des paiements (somme des quatre derniers trimestres, en % du PIB)

Source: KBC Economic Research, d’après de sources nationales

Plusieurs des pays dont la monnaie a été touchée le plus durement ces derniers mois présentent aussi des déficits budgétaires considérables, une dette publique élevée ou les deux. En outre, dans certains pays, une partie non négligeable de cette dette publique est libellée en USD, tout comme la dette des entreprises (figure D). Dans bon nombre d’économies émergentes, les réserves internationales suffisent amplement à couvrir la dette extérieure à court terme. Mais dans le cas de l’Argentine et de la Turquie, les réserves sont à peine suffisantes, voire insuffisantes, pour la couverture de la dette extérieure à court terme.

Figure D - Dette en devises (1er trimestre 2018, en % du PIB)

Source: KBC Economic Research, d’après l'IFF

Comme le montre la figure E, que les différentes économies émergentes aient traversé les principales turbulences du marché avec des fortunes diverses, cette année n’a somme toute rien de si surprenant. Certaines économies émergentes présentent des faiblesses notables, mais il est clair que celles de l’Argentine et de la Turquie, des pays aujourd'hui clairement en situation de crise, sont d'une autre envergure. En outre, de nombreuses autres économies émergentes affichent, pour différents critères, des performances bien plus solides que lors des périodes de crise antérieures. Ceci tient au fait que la plupart de ces pays ont remplacé leur ancien système de change aligné sur le dollar par un régime de taux de change flottants, libres ou contrôlés. Cela facilite les ajustements économiques nécessaires. Cela implique également que si les économies émergentes sont mises à mal sur les marchés financiers, cela ne signifie pas nécessairement que les conditions de crise d’un pays infecteront tous les autres.

Figure E - Carte des risques des économies émergentes

Source: KBC Economic Research, d’après Macrobond, sources nationales et l'IFF

Quelles en sont les conséquences ?

Les autorités des économies émergentes disposent bel et bien d’instruments de politique pour se défendre contre la volatilité des marchés. Certaines ont réagi en relevant les taux d'intérêt, sont intervenues sur les marchés monétaires et ont proposé un assainissement budgétaire. Les banques centrales d’Argentine et de Turquie ont déjà, depuis le début de l’année, relevé les taux de pas moins de 3 125 et 1 600 points de base respectivement. Mais elles ne sont pas les seules. Pour contrer le pire affaiblissement de la roupie depuis 1998, la Banque centrale indonésienne a relevé les taux d'intérêt de 125 points de base. Elle est également intervenue sur le marché en vendant des réserves de devises et en achetant des obligations en monnaie locale. La Banque centrale d’Inde a elle aussi relevé son taux directeur, tandis que celle du Brésil a interrompu le cycle d’assouplissement monétaire en réponse à l’affaiblissement du réal brésilien.

De telles actions, cependant, ne sont pas sans conséquences. Le tarissement des flux de capitaux, la nécessité qui en résulte de réduire les déséquilibres macroéconomiques et les relèvements de taux d’intérêt pour soutenir la monnaie, constituent autant d'éléments de nature à ralentir fortement la croissance économique. Cet affaiblissement intervient à un moment où différents pays émergents font déjà face à des vents contraires en matière de croissance économique. Certains connaissent une reprise économique difficile, qui peut être facilement ruinée par de nouveaux développements négatifs. L’incertitude accrue causée par l’escalade des conflits commerciaux, notamment entre les États-Unis et la Chine (mais aussi entre les États-Unis et l’Union européenne et dans le cadre de la renégociation de l’ALENA), pèse également sur le sentiment du marché envers les économies émergentes. Des droits de douane supplémentaires entre les États-Unis et la Chine, par exemple, pourraient aussi avoir un impact sur de plus petites économies asiatiques fortement intégrées dans les chaînes de valeur d’exportation chinoises.

C’est pourquoi les économies émergentes doivent sans doute s’attendre, pour quelque temps encore, à une période difficile. Compte tenu du dollar fort et de la diversité des incertitudes persistantes, les économies devant encore opérer des ajustements macroéconomiques continueront vraisemblablement de subir la pression des marchés financiers ou un fléchissement de la croissance économique. Il est clair, toutefois, que certaines économies émergentes sont beaucoup plus solides que d’autres. La pression du marché ne signifie pas qu’une économie entre en crise. Elle comporte cependant le risque d'une dégradation drastique du sentiment à l’égard des économies émergentes. Une situation qui pourrait soudain assécher entièrement les flux de capitaux et faire plonger les monnaies. Mais pour la plupart des économies, les turbulences ne semblent, pour l’heure, rien de plus que des turbulences.

Disclaimer:

Tous les opinions dans cette publication reflètent l'opinion personnelle du ou des auteurs à la date mentionnée et sont sujets à modification sans notification préalable. 
KBC Groupe SA ne donne aucune garantie sur la mesure dans laquelle les scénarios, les risques et les pronostics présentés reflètent les prévisions du marché et seront corroborés par la réalité. Toutes les prévisions sont fournies à titre purement indicatif. 
Les données de cette publication sont générales et purement informatives. Les informations ne peuvent pas être considérées comme une offre d'achat ou de vente d'instruments financiers. Elles ne peuvent pas non plus être assimilées à des conseils ou recommandations d'investissement ou à des recherches en investissements au sens de la législation et réglementation sur les marchés d'instruments financiers.
Sous réserve d'autorisation expresse, écrite et préalable de KBC Groupe SA, toute transmission, vente, diffusion ou reproduction des informations, publications et données est interdite sous quelque forme et par quelque moyen que ce soit. 
KBC Groupe SA ne peut pas être tenue responsable de l'exactitude ou de l'exhaustivité des informations ou de dommages directs ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation du présent document.

La suite italienne de Game of Thrones

MR20190813_Italiaanse sequel van "GoT"

Le gouvernement italien joue avec le feu

Le gouvernement italien joue avec le feu

Shorten déchoit: l’Australie mise sur Morrison

MR20190520_Australië

L'euroscepticisme n'affaiblira pas l'UE

EO20190513 Euroscepticisme zal EU niet klein krijgen
KBC utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Cela nous permet en outre de mieux répondre à vos besoins et à vos préférences. En continuant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de ces cookies. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Ou refuser les cookies?Cliquez ici.